Blonde Brownies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
HELPFUL TIPS NOT MENTIONED: I've been on a brownie rampage for the past month,and have made 10 recipes! THIS is the only one that consistency comes out the same!!!! What's best about it is, ...there aren't 100 reviews changing how to do it b/c it's good as is! What's not mentioned is, the exact same recipe (taste, chewy, big) is on here, but in cookie form!!! How wonderful is that esp. if you love this recipe like my family and husbands soldiers we send this to do?! You can find it under "Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie" ...the title is exactly how they always turn out. I love this in brownie AND cookie form, so try both!!! Also, I prefer the chocolate chips to be mixed IN instead of on top, but it's all about preference! It would be overkill to add more than recommended though. When I double the recipe, I still only put a heaping 2/3 C of cc, and it's MORE than enough. TWICE I have won best chocolate chip cookie on our military base due to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
879 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Marvelous, absolutely fantastic! I doubled the recipe (the only thing I changed) and used a 13x9 pan allowing a bit longer cooking time. Others have said these are "too sweet". Most blonde brownies I tried were disappointing as they were not sweet enough. My preferences in dessert run on the "rich" side". If you like rich desserts as I do, make as is for an 8x8 pan or double the recipe for a 13x9. Thank you for sharing this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
465 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesa in IL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmi, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Excellent. I have been looking for a good recipe for "blondies" for a long time! Like many reviewers, I doubled the recipe and baked it in a 9x13 inch pan. I also left out the nuts at mixed the chocolate chips right into the batter- would definitely recommend doing this! BUT, do NOT store in the refrigerator!! They were so great at first but got ruined when I put them in the refrigerator. They got really hard, like little bricks! Oh well, I'll just have to make them again! I'm sure no one will complain about that...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
229 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
These brownies won me a Blue ribbon in the State fair culinary department and a grand champion from my family. I will definitely be trying this recipe again. The chocolate chips were very good with the flakey brownie and the brownie itself was moist in the middle and chewy throughout!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Absolutly amazing!! If you want to have a blondie just like at applebees make the buttermilk syrup that is on this site and pour some over the brownie.... that Makes it even more AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
This recipe is just like the one I made years ago and I could never find it again. It came out perfectly. Nice and chewy, not too cakey, not too sweet. I doubled the recipes and I did cut down on the baking powder some. It seemed like a lot to me. I think I used about 3/4 of the recommended amount maybe a little bit less. I also used brownulated light brown sugar. Ya know, the one that pours ;). Oh, yeah, I cooked them in a 13x9 glass pan and did spray the pan lightly with cooking spray I also cooked them for slightly longer than the suggested time. My oven is brand new so I know the temperature is correct. They needed an extra 10 minutes or so. They came out excellent. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Soucie Belloise

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
As far as I'm concerned, just about everything is wrong with these bars. Too sweet. Too gushy. Too brown sugary. Just a soft, sloppy, sweet glob of sugar butter. I'm afraid these made their way into the trash, because just as there's too many good books out there to waste your time reading a bad one, there's just too many good sweet treats out there to waste your time eating one that's not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
Double this recipe and bake in a 9x13. These are to die for...so, you'll need twice as many. I love to mix butterscotch and chocolate chips. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by f8hopeLove
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
These were really good. I omitted the walnuts. I also subsituted the chocolate chips for M&M's. I stirred them into the batter which made a neat chocolate-y center, and a two tone contrast wich was pretty. I submited a photo. I baked it on 325 for 25 minutes. The texture was exactly as it should be, just like a fugdy brownie without being underdone. Yummy. Next time I might try the swirled white and chocolate chips, because the M&M's weren't sweet enough for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
I doubled the recipe as suggested, except for the baking soda. The brownies are chewy and sweet. I used butterscotch chips instead of chocolate, and could barely wait for them to cool off before eating one. Be careful, they're addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blonde Brownies I

This chewy "blondie" is still plenty chocolatey, thanks to the chips on top.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States