Blizzard Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Very good and very easy to make. I layered it so that it would taste more like the cakes at dairy queen. I made the bottom layer with chocolate ice cream and chocolate oreos, then over that i had a very thin layer of just the oreo crumbs, on top of that i put a little layer of fudge, and then the top layer was just the original oreos with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
only had half gallon ice cream, but followed the recipe exactly besided that..made it for the 4th of July and family loved it! it reminds me of the DQ..yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellymiller333
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I made an oreo cookie crust..then mixed crushed oreos into the softened icecream and then folded in the whipped cream and put it into a 9 x 13 pan. I bought 2 packages of oreos and used them all, I then used a 2 qt container of van. icecream and a 16 oz whipcream container.I then topped it off when more crushed oreos. It turned out pretty good. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Thought this was okay... I'm not sure how you'd fit a whole gallon of ice cream plus 12 ounces of whipped topping into one 9x13 dish. I used a half gallon of vanilla frozen yogurt and maybe 6 ounces of whipped topping and it filled my 9x13 to the rim. This recipe didn't "knock my socks off", but it's pretty hard to go wrong with ice cream and oreos. Would probably be a great addition to a summer cookout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by edensmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
This was so good! Tasted just like a blizzard. Followed the directions to a T and loved it! Can't wait to try with different ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANDY5473

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grandview, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Simply amazing and amazingly simple!! We have a birthday every 2months in our house so we go thru alot of DQ cakes. I tried this and everyone loved it!! I split a gallon of ice cream and the container of whipped topping and made Oreo and Chocolate chip with a Graham crust...all in a big lasagna pan. It turned out perfect! I will never buy another ice cream cake...thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
this is one of my favorite recipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hebbies37

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Holy Moly this is GOOD!!! I changed the recipe a bit though. I used 1/2 gallon of vanilla ice cream, 1/2 a package of Oreo's and 6 ounces of Cool Whip. I split this mixture between 2 store-bought Oreo pie shells. Served 16 people at a 4th of July BBQ and as soon as it was cut, it was gone! Everyone RAVED about it and wanted seconds. Great Recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
My 19 year old daughter brought the ingredients home from the store to make this for a teacher at school. I thought she was nuts! The next day at our school, this cake disappeared in 10 minutes! The teachers turned the pan upside down to get every last drop! It is wonderful! No one will believe that it takes only three ingredients and 10 minutes to make! Everyone asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Oh. My. Goodness! We were guests at a friend's house for Easter dinner this year. Her daughter made this as one of the dessert choices. This was wonderful! I liked that she left the chunks of Oreos pretty large, so you got a definite bite of cookie, and it kept the dessert from turning a "murky" color from little powdery pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Potted Plant Ice-Cream Cake

See how to make ice-cream cake that looks like a potted plant!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States