Blizzard Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Simply amazing and amazingly simple!! We have a birthday every 2months in our house so we go thru alot of DQ cakes. I tried this and everyone loved it!! I split a gallon of ice cream and the container of whipped topping and made Oreo and Chocolate chip with a Graham crust...all in a big lasagna pan. It turned out perfect! I will never buy another ice cream cake...thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
this is one of my favorite recipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hebbies37

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Holy Moly this is GOOD!!! I changed the recipe a bit though. I used 1/2 gallon of vanilla ice cream, 1/2 a package of Oreo's and 6 ounces of Cool Whip. I split this mixture between 2 store-bought Oreo pie shells. Served 16 people at a 4th of July BBQ and as soon as it was cut, it was gone! Everyone RAVED about it and wanted seconds. Great Recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
My 19 year old daughter brought the ingredients home from the store to make this for a teacher at school. I thought she was nuts! The next day at our school, this cake disappeared in 10 minutes! The teachers turned the pan upside down to get every last drop! It is wonderful! No one will believe that it takes only three ingredients and 10 minutes to make! Everyone asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Oh. My. Goodness! We were guests at a friend's house for Easter dinner this year. Her daughter made this as one of the dessert choices. This was wonderful! I liked that she left the chunks of Oreos pretty large, so you got a definite bite of cookie, and it kept the dessert from turning a "murky" color from little powdery pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This is a great recipe - especially when I went to go buy the blizzard cake myself and the small was 17.99 and the med. size was 24.99. You can buy the ingredients yourself for one much larger than theirs for under $10.00! Keep your overpriced Blizzard cakes DQ - Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
So good on hot summer day! Nice break from traditional cake! Used half gallon of vanilla bean, 8oz chocolate cool whip and store brand chocolate sandwich cookies (w chocolate frosting). Also made a 'crust' with the crushed cookies on the bottom of the pan, mixed crushed cookies with ice cream/cool whip mixture and sprinkled top with cookies too. Next time I think Ill try to use different combinations or try with mint oreos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
I made this recipe for mother's day treat to myself. It was a BIG hit. I used reece cup ice cream and the cookies. I was awesome, next time I will try more combinations. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Limaville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
This recipe is awesome. I made this for my daughters 3rd birthday cake. I should have read the reviews first, cause 1 gallon of ice cream is too much for a 9x13 pan... next time i'll half the recipe. Otherwise - it was great. I might also try using different cookies and even candies to give it a twist. Thanks for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Persikka_78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Port Gibson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
Maybe it's the type of ice cream I used but this was almost too sweet to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Éclair Cake

This no-bake cake has layers of deliciousness, and couldn’t be simpler.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States