Blitz Puff Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This stuff is awesome!! I'm now "Queen" of the kitchen says my family. They say I should open a shop and sell this!! I did use all the advice & tips from the chef Frances Crouter. She's a gem!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Glenrock, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
It's a nice pastry, I believe even doing more folds and rolling would make it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRASH5456

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiarton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Beautiful recipe. I rolled it out a total of four times, and it puffed up perfectly for both a galette and some palmiers. I will certainly use this shortcut method again - making the real stuff is just too much! The recipe is right - the dough looks terrible during the first roll but it comes together very well by the second or third rolling. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aijiesi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Nice, even though I'm sure I didn't make it the way that it should have been :P Since I pressed in the butter in rather then having long strips, used it to make small apple pies/strudels
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hougang, North-East Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I did have a little difficulty with this pastry, and I ended up rolling it between two sheets of parchment paper (I make the bottom sheet longer so I can hold it with my hip while I roll). But the end result was very nice. I would love to watch Frances make it so mine would look like the photo! I will try again and use the pastry for cinnamon crispies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by monjfr
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
it was good ,and as the submitter mentioned it doesn`t puff high but I still have enough layers in m pastry. I used AP flour , for the bread flour I used the same mount of AP flour + 1 TBS wheat gluten, and for the cake flour I used 1 1/4 cup sifted AP flour. I hade to make mre folding and rolling coz the butter was still visible after step 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monjfr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
great recipe, I will make again. Next time I will leave out 1T of sugar and sprinkle it on top, held apples/sauce very well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This is just what I need! Thanks, all the palmier recipes I have seen ask for puff pastry dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
worked well thankyou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penorcas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Mine did not turn out well. I tried to make it healthier and this recipe is not for you if that is what u have in mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

How to Make Pie Pastry Dough

Follow this simple recipe to make perfect pie crusts every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States