Blitz Puff Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I love love love this pastry recipe. I followed it exactly except I needed a little more water to get the dough to come together initially which sort of ruined a couple of pieces of butter. Instead of rolling into a baking sheet size I did another fold and roll with whichever little piece I was working on and just kept rolling to the right thickness. The results were pretty amazing, very light, buttery and flaky with a lovely taste and even brown. Not quite as good as real puff but a lot easier. And to be fair where I live the pre-made commercial puff pastry is absolutely disgusting compared to this so I couldn't be happier with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooch656

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
awesome recipe indeed!! can we use all purpose flour instead of bread flour?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
It was a mess, as the recipe owner stated. and still a mess after rolling it for a couple of times using the help of a parchment paper; the parts keep falling off and I don't know why. maybe I did something wrong? or is it because I halved the recipe? so I had to roll it for a couple of times until it looked like what a puff pastry dough should be. didn't puff so high but that was still alright. still,it's really time-consuming and not quite worth the effort. i might make it again when im more skilled or whatever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Captain Bravo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Purple Baker
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
This worked perfectly! I was worried I didn't roll it out right (the rotations confused me), but it was great. Even the scraps worked well in the oven! I used this recipe for bear claws. I think I left the dough too thick when I baked it, because I didn't get as many as I expected. Also, I rolled the dough out on wax paper. This really helped when I had to fold the dough the first few times (it would have just fallen apart).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Purple Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Good puff pastry. So long as it's not doubled up too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Thanks for posting this recipe, I misplaced the copy I received in culinary school. I hate the ingredients in the store bought stuff, and this method of making puff pastry is great for making at home! I'm planning on using it for a roasted tomato tart with cheve! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
this pastry recipe was absolutly amazing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kindersley, Saskatchewan, Canada
Photo by Maryam
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This recipe is great. I didn't have any problem with it and it was good at all.I'll bake it again and I know it will be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tehran, Tehran, Iran
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Mine did not turn out well. I tried to make it healthier and this recipe is not for you if that is what u have in mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
worked well thankyou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penorcas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

How to Make Pie Pastry Dough

Follow this simple recipe to make perfect pie crusts every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States