Blissful Rosemary Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Growing up in my family of outstanding Italian cooks (and being a pretty mean Italian cook myself!) I recognized this recipe as having all the combination of ingredients for a take on a great Italian dish, Chicken Saltimbocca. Sad to say, both hubby and I were pretty non-impressed. First, let me say I made the recipe with no changes so I could be fair in my review. That said, because the chicken basically "poaches" in all that liquid, it turned out moist and tender-a good thing! However, because the chicken basically "poaches" in all that liquid, the chicken had no color, so it was pretty anemic looking-a bad thing. The pan "juices," which should be thick and velvety, were instead watery. Blechh. The flavor of the chicken was bland, lost to the overpowering, rather than subtle, flavor of rosemary. Yet, this recipe does have potential, with minimal changes. Salt and pepper the chicken. Sprinkle with a LITTLE minced garlic and a LITTLE chopped rosemary, then roll up with the the prosciutto and cheese as the recipe directs. Brown the chicken, in a little olive oil over pretty high heat, about two minutes on each side until golden. Then, add all the liquid to the pan, scraping up the brown bits, and continue to cook until the liquid is reduced to about half, another several minutes or so. Swirl in a couple tbls. of butter. Serve the chicken drizzled with some of the reduced liquid, and insert a sprig of rosemary for a nice presentation. Mmm, bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
Update from the author: What I love about this site is all of the input. Specifically, your comments on cheese, garlic and rosemary have made all the diff here. Re cheese: I still prefer smoked fontina, but use what you want. Tip: slice it and then let it warm to room temp. It will roll better that way, which lets the layering happen a bit better. Re garlic: yeah, just mince and drizzle it into the breasts before you roll. Think about how much your guests like garlic. You might just get away with slicing a clove and rubbing, a la bruschetta. Your call. Re rosemary: while skewering is a nice touch, you can simply lay the sprig in the pounded breast, perpendicular, and roll it up alongside everything else. Be sure to moisten well, however, so the ends don't totally fry. Alternatively, just minced and add to the roll-up! I'm glad so many of you have enjoyed this. Thank you for the input!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
This was my first attempt at slightly "fancier" cooking. I'm a complete novice, and I could not have been more pleased with how great this recipe turned out. As a bit of a beginner, there's nothing more disheartening than working hard and it somehow not coming together - but this was clear enough for even me to follow, and it came out beautifully, with lots of compliments. Update: I've made this dish several times now, and have found that instead of bothering with sharpening the rosemary and spearing it, it tastes better to just wrap the rosemary sprig in with the prosciutto and cheese. It slides right out of the chicken with a little pull, but leaves MUCH more flavor. Just secure the chicken with toothpicks so it'll hold together when cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Arena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodinville, Washington, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This was absolutely delicious, though I did make a few slight changes. 1. I used provolone cheese instead of fontina. 2. I browned the chicken before baking, as others recommended. 3. Instead of mixing the wet ingredients in a separate bowl, I mixed them in the pan I browned the chicken in. I added crushed garlic and dried rosemary to the mixture and let it simmer a bit before adding it to the baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I had my doubts when I made this. Also didn't think I could secure the chicken with a rosemary sprig. In the end I used chicken thigh for more flavors, and rolled the rosemary in the center and used a bamboo skewer pierce everything together. Make sure you buy really good porscuito and cheese. You won't be sorry you splurged.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
This is a great recipe! ChefSingleDad, come over to my house and cook for me some night! I didn't have any fresh rosemary springs so I added about 1 tsp dried rosemary to the marinade. I put the chicken rolls on skewers and let them marinate overnight and baked them the next night. They came out so tender and juicy, probably because I let them marintate so long. When the chicken was done, I used a baster to get the sauce out and put it in a small saucepan. I added a little bit of half and half to make the sauce more creamier. Then I added some cornstarch at the end to thicken it up a bit, and poured the sauce over the chicken before serving. I will definately make this recipe again, next time I think I will try some different meats and cheeses to roll up with the chicken. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This is fabulous! I have made it many times and even my picky 12 yr. old daughter likes it. I have used flattened chicken tenderloin pieces instead of the breast halves at times. They're smaller but look just as nice with the sprig of rosemary holding them together. I've made it exactly as the recipe calls for, but have also substituted lean deli ham for the prosciutto when I didn't have any on hand. Thanks for the great dish--it's definitely good enough for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Thomas, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Edgewood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I've made this twice now and love it! Each time I've used smoked mozzarella instead of fontina, and it's tasted delicious. Browning the chicken before baking did make all the difference in appearance. Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coatesville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
What a great recipe. Flavours are wonderful and the sprig of rosemary is an addition that has real flair. Thanks for the tips on preventing the rosemary from blackening. I'm going to research any other recipes you have contributed, Single Dad chef. Kudos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
This was indeed an intensely flavorful chicken. I followed Single Dad's idea of browning a bit in the pan before marinating. I marinated for about 24h and then popped the pan in the oven for 15 minutes. Very good and juicy with the wine sauce, but I thought a little too peppery. Next time, I'll use a bit less pepper. And Single Dad, how do you keep the rosemary from burning? The tips of mine burned, so I pulled them off and served the part in the chicken only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a rosemary and ranch-dressing marinade for chicken kabobs.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Watch how to make this Italian-inspired recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States