Blissful Rosemary Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 6, 2006
This was my first attempt at slightly "fancier" cooking. I'm a complete novice, and I could not have been more pleased with how great this recipe turned out. As a bit of a beginner, there's nothing more disheartening than working hard and it somehow not coming together - but this was clear enough for even me to follow, and it came out beautifully, with lots of compliments. Update: I've made this dish several times now, and have found that instead of bothering with sharpening the rosemary and spearing it, it tastes better to just wrap the rosemary sprig in with the prosciutto and cheese. It slides right out of the chicken with a little pull, but leaves MUCH more flavor. Just secure the chicken with toothpicks so it'll hold together when cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Arena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodinville, Washington, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
I've served this twice to rave reviews. I made sure I pounded the chicken breasts to a consistent thickness and spaced them out in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
This was very good. I used smoked gouda and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I had my doubts when I made this. Also didn't think I could secure the chicken with a rosemary sprig. In the end I used chicken thigh for more flavors, and rolled the rosemary in the center and used a bamboo skewer pierce everything together. Make sure you buy really good porscuito and cheese. You won't be sorry you splurged.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
It sounded like it would be amazing with the prosciutto and fontina, and that part was great but I actually found that the chicken itself tasted rather bland. I agree with the reviewer who said that it didn't have the "wow factor." I wasn't clear on whether the prosciutto should completely envelop the chicken or not, so I don't think I bought large enough slices. Perhaps that is the reason why I didn't enjoy it as much as others seemed to. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
My DH made this for dinner, and it was quite good in the end, but he did make some minor modifications. We didn't have any fresh rosemary, so we used dried and used toothpicks to secure the chicken closed. I couldn't find smoked fontina cheese, so I just used regular. we also did not place the garlic under the chicken while cooking, but rather crushed some garlic and placed it inside the chicken along with the meat and cheese. Lastly, following the advice of the recipe poster, we didn't bake the chicken, we did it all on the stove-top. In the end, the chicken had a very nice flavour and it was an easy dish to accomplish, but it didn't really have a a "wow" factor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
wow, burst of flavor. definitely one of my favorite chicken recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Wow!!! This has to be one of the best recipes I've made in awhile. My "picky-eating" husband and 4 children loved it and I will make this again. Thank you for the recipe and this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
this was fabulous and easy to make. My husband keeps asking me when I am going to make it again (and he is a picky eater). Highly reccomended. I could not find smoked fontina in my local market, so I used smoked gouda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
This was okay..I actually expected more. Maybe I cooked it too long, but it was a little dried out. May give it another try, and try browning it as suggested...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lenox, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Housatonic, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a rosemary and ranch-dressing marinade for chicken kabobs.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Watch how to make this Italian-inspired recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States