Blissful Rosemary Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This was absolutely delicious, though I did make a few slight changes. 1. I used provolone cheese instead of fontina. 2. I browned the chicken before baking, as others recommended. 3. Instead of mixing the wet ingredients in a separate bowl, I mixed them in the pan I browned the chicken in. I added crushed garlic and dried rosemary to the mixture and let it simmer a bit before adding it to the baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This is fabulous! I have made it many times and even my picky 12 yr. old daughter likes it. I have used flattened chicken tenderloin pieces instead of the breast halves at times. They're smaller but look just as nice with the sprig of rosemary holding them together. I've made it exactly as the recipe calls for, but have also substituted lean deli ham for the prosciutto when I didn't have any on hand. Thanks for the great dish--it's definitely good enough for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Thomas, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Edgewood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I've made this twice now and love it! Each time I've used smoked mozzarella instead of fontina, and it's tasted delicious. Browning the chicken before baking did make all the difference in appearance. Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coatesville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Well done, Single Dad! I made this dish last night and my husband absolutely loved it! He commented on the how nicely the fontina and prosciutto came together. While I didn't marinate it as others have, the chicken stilled turned out very moist. Because fresh rosemary can sometimes overwhelm a dish, I used the dried variety and didn't regret it one bit. It was still delicious. Keep the recipes coming, Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndrewsWife01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Elegant and easy! If you refrigerate this, though, be very careful to make sure the chicken cooks all the way through in the baking time recommended. Mine was a bit raw in the middle of the "roll."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Growing up in my family of outstanding Italian cooks (and being a pretty mean Italian cook myself!) I recognized this recipe as having all the combination of ingredients for a take on a great Italian dish, Chicken Saltimbocca. Sad to say, both hubby and I were pretty non-impressed. First, let me say I made the recipe with no changes so I could be fair in my review. That said, because the chicken basically "poaches" in all that liquid, it turned out moist and tender-a good thing! However, because the chicken basically "poaches" in all that liquid, the chicken had no color, so it was pretty anemic looking-a bad thing. The pan "juices," which should be thick and velvety, were instead watery. Blechh. The flavor of the chicken was bland, lost to the overpowering, rather than subtle, flavor of rosemary. Yet, this recipe does have potential, with minimal changes. Salt and pepper the chicken. Sprinkle with a LITTLE minced garlic and a LITTLE chopped rosemary, then roll up with the the prosciutto and cheese as the recipe directs. Brown the chicken, in a little olive oil over pretty high heat, about two minutes on each side until golden. Then, add all the liquid to the pan, scraping up the brown bits, and continue to cook until the liquid is reduced to about half, another several minutes or so. Swirl in a couple tbls. of butter. Serve the chicken drizzled with some of the reduced liquid, and insert a sprig of rosemary for a nice presentation. Mmm, bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Such a simple yet elegant dish to prepare! The chicken turned out so moist and flavorful. My only change to recipe was I used aged Provolone cheese. I told my kids that this was an Italian version of chicken cordon bleu and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
Absolutely fantastic. It was my first time using fresh herbs from the garden. I didn't have the tools to flatten the chicken, so I simply butterflied the breasts, layered the cheese and prosciutto, and folded back. Worked very well and turned out surprisingly tender and juicy. Tip: I used the leftover sauce to lightly saute some orange bell peppers and served them with long grain brown rice. What a success for a beginner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
The first time I made this it was wonderful. Very regal and hubby liked it for a plain meat and potatoes man. The second time I made it I used smoked ham and swiss. This time my hubby devoured it. I like both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
Pretty good, but not 5 stars. Rosemary very strong. Kids didn't care for it. Would make with extra cheese next time, and sprinkle with fresh rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a rosemary and ranch-dressing marinade for chicken kabobs.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Watch how to make this Italian-inspired recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States