Blissful Rosemary Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I must start by saying, it annoys me when recipes are not reviewed "as is", because essentially you are reviewing a different recipe if you change it........However....This one had such great"bones"after I tweaked it I had to share because it was WOW! Here goes...I used salt and pepper on the flattened chicken then rolled and secured with toothpicks,(I used provolone, as many others). I then browned over high heat in a skillet with olive Oil. Place chicken in baking dish, then place a T. of flour in drippings and cook one minute. Now deglaze pan with wine, chicken broth and garlic. Pour over chicken and continue in oven as directed. The rosemary makes a beautiful garnish, but will burn in oven. Served over orzo. Would serve for supper club! Enjoy! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I had very high hopes for this recipe and it actually exceeded my expectations! Although I had fresh Rosemary, I didn't have any sprigs strong enough to use to skewer the chicken so I used toothpicks and laid the Rosemary on top. I have a lot of house guests coming in the next few weeks so I plan to roll up several pieces and freeze them. I can just pull out what I need, whip up the sauce and I will have a very easy elegant dinner. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I thought this was delicious. I doubled the liquid part and while it baked, I cooked the excess in a pan and added some fresh rosemary and garlic to the duplicate what the chicken was cooking in. Then when the chicken was done, I added THAT liquid to the pan. Then I strained it to get a smooth liquid which I then put back in the pan and thickened slightly with about 2 tablespoons of cornstarch disolved in probabaly 1/4 cup of cold water. I served with rice. Also I wouldn't recommend using tenderloins unless you know you are getting a good slab of meat because I used tenderloins and ended up with oversized bite-sized pieces of chicken which wasn't bad but it wasn't what I had wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This was great. I could not find the fontina so I used provalone. I think a sronger smoked cheese would have been even better. I added a roasted and peeled green chile to each. I also thickened the sauce and think that was a good ides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Followed the recipe exactly except used smoked mozarella (couldn't find fontina). It was wonderful. Compliments all around from my family. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
This was very tasty. I love trying new recipes and this one was a hit. It doesn't take very long, which is great after work. The store was out of fresh rosemary, so I used sage and placed int he roll with the proscuitto and cheese and it was lovely. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. I would like to try it with the rosemary, though. Great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
This was gorgeous - made it last night, great success! As I didn't have fresh rosemary in the house, I used dried sprinkled over the breasts with minced garlic before rolling up - next time I'd definitely cut back a bit as I thought both the rosemary and the garlic were a bit overwhelming. The boyfriend was mad about it though. I ended up cooking it in the pan as the preparation time was so much longer than I anticipated - this is the first time I've tried flattening and rolling, so it was a bit fiddly, but I've no doubt it will be easier next time. Also following recommendations, I added butter and flour when reducing the sauce to make more of a gravy, but found it too greasy - it separated into oil and rather 50s-looking gloopy bits, and as by this stage I was running very late I didn't bother whisking it which might have helped. However, the sauce looked a lot better before I started fiddling with it, so I think next time I'll stick to the recipe. Overall, it was fantastic, chicken very moist and tender even though it only had 20 minutes marinating time, the smoked cheese adding a delicate note which we loved, and the prosciutto a nice contrast. Will definitely be making again! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This was absolutely delicious, though I did make a few slight changes. 1. I used provolone cheese instead of fontina. 2. I browned the chicken before baking, as others recommended. 3. Instead of mixing the wet ingredients in a separate bowl, I mixed them in the pan I browned the chicken in. I added crushed garlic and dried rosemary to the mixture and let it simmer a bit before adding it to the baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This is fabulous! I have made it many times and even my picky 12 yr. old daughter likes it. I have used flattened chicken tenderloin pieces instead of the breast halves at times. They're smaller but look just as nice with the sprig of rosemary holding them together. I've made it exactly as the recipe calls for, but have also substituted lean deli ham for the prosciutto when I didn't have any on hand. Thanks for the great dish--it's definitely good enough for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Thomas, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Edgewood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I've made this twice now and love it! Each time I've used smoked mozzarella instead of fontina, and it's tasted delicious. Browning the chicken before baking did make all the difference in appearance. Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coatesville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a rosemary and ranch-dressing marinade for chicken kabobs.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Watch how to make this Italian-inspired recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States