Blini (Russian Pancakes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ABP1522
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
These turned out great, but made wayyy more than we needed. Add sour cream, jam and sweetened condensed milk for perfect tasting blini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Love this recipe! Have already made it twice in the last month. Once with a ground meat stuffing and the other time with a cheese stuffing. The blini were perfectly fluffy and tasted like my moms (who is Russian/Ukrainian). In addition to subbing lemon for citric acid, I more than doubled the amount of sugar this recipe called for, using 5 tablespoons total. But that just might be me that I like slightly sweeter blini even when used for a savory recipe. I used a smaller ladle (more oval than round) in order to keep the blini relatively thin. This made about 30 or so blini, just like the recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Great recipe. I would suggest skipping the citric acid and go for real lemon or lime juice. Most people don't know that a lot of citric acid comes from a GMO black mold developed for this purpose. Yuck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
These are perfect! If your looking for that spongy texture that Russian blini should be - here you go. I personally like adding a tsp. of vanilla or almond and then spreading it with some Nutella then wrapping it around a banana like they do for street food in Ukraine. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cami Romney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Amman, Amman, Jordan
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
These are basically crepes. Every ethnic group in Europe has similar and each with slightly different names. I'm an American of Slovak decent...we call them Palacinka. The only thing I don't do is add boiling water. By the way...they are AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mander
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Really good! I made it for my family of 3 so I adjusted the serving to 2 and it turned out great! I put sprinkles on some with Nutella and bananas inside and on my husbands I put peach jam and bananas inside! And I didn't have citric acid powder so I added orange juice instead. Adjusting it to 2 servings made 4, 12" blinis which was plenty for us. And for the (1 1/4) egg I just used a really big egg from our chickens and it worked fine! These would be really good with sausage, eggs, cheese and maple syrup inside too! Thanks for the yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Walkersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
My boyfriend is from Russia and made me these one day but using his recipe. They were greasy and not very good. I decided to try this recipe and I loved them! I haven't figured out how to tell him I can make Russian pancakes better than him yet lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
These taste just like the best blini I've enjoyed in Ukraine. I like them best Ukrainian style, filled with red caviar and rolled cigar-shaped. Also delightful filled with salt-cured or smoked salmon and a dab of sour cream, garnished with fresh dill. Any fresh or smoked fish is good in blini. Rolled or folded around any kind of fish spread is delightful. And of course, the best of all is black caviar such as ossetra or beluga, and served with icy cold vodka as a snack or appetizer. Crumbled Bulgarian feta and chopped fresh dill is a tasty budget filling. Like other reviewers, I've used lemon juice in them. I strongly object to substituting oil for butter, reducing the amount of butter, or using any kind of reduced fat milk, which affects the flavor negatively. If you want to taste Eastern Europe when you eat them, follow the directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
These were fantastic! I was really nervous about making them, but they turned out great. I ended up taking a stick of butter and brushing the pan after each blini. These taste like crepes to me, so not sure what the difference is except the country of origin : ) I made a blueberry sauce to go inside and sprinkled some powdered sugar. I halved the recipe for our family of 4 and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I live in Russia, and I've tried many blini recipes from Russian websites. Maybe I'm just bad with grams and ml, but none of those recipes turned out as good as this one!! I halved the recipe (only 2 eggs), and added a little extra water. I used a tiny bit of vinegar instead of the citric acid. Russian boyfriend approves!! Thank you!! We're ready for Maslenitsa tomorrow :) Absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pancakes I

See how to make a simple 5-star pancake recipe.

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

How to Make Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make classic diner-style pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States