Bleu Cheese Macaroni Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Just made this tonight, the sauce is very thick but it was WONDERFUL. Will definitely make it again as a lover of blue cheese, it's interesting to see how diverse it can be in cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I changed a few items in this recipe based on previous reviews, but what resulted was delicious. Instead of bell peppers, I blanched some broccoli and then cooked it in the butter with about 2 cloves of minced garlic and without the additional salt and pepper. I then tossed in about 2 teaspoons of flour and allowed that to cook for just a few seconds (to toast the flour a bit). I then added twice the amount of heavy cream asked for in this recipe and used a mix of 1/2 cup blue cheese, 3/4 cup parmesan and 3/4 cup cheddar cheese along with the 1/2 cup plain yogurt. It was heavenly. Definitely a nice twist on traditional mac n cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KatieSwim
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
So amazing, and even better when re-heated the next day! It's really rich, so I would recommend serving as a side, not as a meal. I got 10 servings out of this batch. Someone mentioned that it's not for those who don't LOVE bleu cheese...and they are correct. If you are not absolutely in love with bleu cheese (or stinky cheese in general), this is not for you. The second time I made it, I grilled up two chicken breasts, cut the chicken into bite-sized chunks, tossed them in a hefty amount of buffalo wing sauce and then added the chicken to the mac and cheese for an amazing buffalo chicken version. Absolutely yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I was looking for a way to use up some Maytag and found this one--didn't have exact ingredients but just started throwing things in and it turned out great! I halved the recipe, but used an extra tbsp. of butter. Left the peppers out and seasoned with the salt and pepper. Added approx. 1/2 c blue cheese, 1/2 c parmesan, 1/2 c plain greek yogurt, 1/4 c evaporated milk instead (didn't have heavy cream). Tastes very similar to a recipe I made for a drizzle over kettle-cooked potato chips (which is also AMAZING).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This was just okay for our family. Each of us thought that the 1 cup of blue cheese crumbles made it much too strong to really enjoy. I may make it again using less blue cheese, adding regular dressing, etc...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Better than expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joeday

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
So I made this for my boyfriend and I and we loved it! I read through most of the reviews and changed it a little, adding garlic, using half and half and cutting back the blue cheese to about just under a half of a cup (that's all I had). We loved it, but I think next time we're gonna do the full cup of blue cheese. We could taste it, but think it'd be better with the full amount. I'm gonna also add some chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Wow!! This recipe is fantastic!! My family are all bleu cheese lovers so this one was an instant hit!! The recipe is easy to make and the variations are endless. Next time I want to try a little crumbled bacon and onions. I did double the cream as did many others. I'll definitely be making this one again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I really liked this. I didn't *love* it (as in I'd make it once a week for the rest of my life), but it was really good. It's definitely a pretty intense mac, so I paired it with a milder meal and served it as a side dish. I think it would be a bit heavy as a main course. Overall a good use for my leftover bleu cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindseyb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grandville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
This is excellent as is, but I added cooked chicken breast and a touch of buffalo hot sauce to to turn this into a very tasty main course
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WJARRETTC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Mouse's Macaroni and Cheese

This mac and cheese is super cheesy, and super easy!

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States