Bleu Cheese Macaroni Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
As other reviewers stated, I cut back on the flour and doubled the cream, but the sauce was still too thick to me and my husband. The flavor overall was amazing. I will just add a lot more cream next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janelle W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Coral, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
We made this with a few changes based on other reviews. We used half and half (all we had), but increased the amount to 1C. We did not use any flour. The sauce was very creamy and plenty thick enough, so I was happy we made this change. For cheeses, we used 1/3C blue cheese, 2/3 C mild cheddar and 1/2 Parmesan. This gave it a nice blue cheese flavor without being overpowering. We did not use any peppers. This is a great change from the traditional mac n cheese, and one that we will make again often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I replaced the peppers with a small amount of spicy Romanian pork belly because my wife hates bell peppers. The combination of the cheese and the spicy bacon was enough to put her in to a realm of ecstasy that even adult film stars can only dream about. She took some to work and the next thing I know 15+ people wanting the recipe. This stuff ROCKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Great twist on traditional mac. I added crumbled bacon and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by something new

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Great recipe for all cheeselovers! I didn't have a heavy cream so I just used a milk and yogurt. I reduced the quantity of flour and added garlic. Everything else was as in the original recipe. I recommend Bleu Cheese Macaroni! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
This has become one of our families favorite dinners. We use skim milk instead of cream and non-fat yogurt because we like it better. We also sometimes use broccoli instead of the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anne
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Great recipe. I spiced mine up a bit using some Franks buffalo sauce. Excellent flavor together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I do love bleu cheese. If you do not absolutly love it, I would switch to a sharp Cheddar. That would pretty awesome too. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Just made this tonight, the sauce is very thick but it was WONDERFUL. Will definitely make it again as a lover of blue cheese, it's interesting to see how diverse it can be in cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I changed a few items in this recipe based on previous reviews, but what resulted was delicious. Instead of bell peppers, I blanched some broccoli and then cooked it in the butter with about 2 cloves of minced garlic and without the additional salt and pepper. I then tossed in about 2 teaspoons of flour and allowed that to cook for just a few seconds (to toast the flour a bit). I then added twice the amount of heavy cream asked for in this recipe and used a mix of 1/2 cup blue cheese, 3/4 cup parmesan and 3/4 cup cheddar cheese along with the 1/2 cup plain yogurt. It was heavenly. Definitely a nice twist on traditional mac n cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States