Blenty of Blintzes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
It seems like I *never* follow a recipe - and sometimes it even happens when I'm not changing something on purpose! I made this for dinner tonight and, surprisingly with all the goofs, it came out just great! Not puffy, but still very good. I added vanilla and left out the salt, at the recommendation of others. Served this with chunks of cantaloupe on the side and some leftover baked spiral ham - everyone loved it! I'd make it again - next time trying to follow the recipe by not leaving out ingredients just to see what it is supposed to be like. 1. I inadvertently left out the baking powder. 2. I also inadvertently left the melted (instead of soft) butter in the microwave and forgot to add it to the cheese mixture, so poured it over the top of the cheese mixture instead. 3. I also didn’t have enough cottage cheese – only about 1 cup – so added about 1/4 cup sour cream instead of just a tablespoon. 4. I also sprinkled about 3/4 cup fresh blueberries over the top of the cheese before spooning the balance of the dough mixture on top. VERY good – and I think I would try peaches or sliced apples sometime, too. 5. I also made a mixture of raw sugar and cinnamon and sprinkled it over the top of the whole thing before baking. Also VERY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmartcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
I've never understood how anyone can "review" a recipe that they've altered so I make most recipes the way they're written the first time I try them. This one is no exception and I'm glad I didn't change a thing! Moist, delicious, easy and economical to prepare. Oh I did change one thing...I don't have a 9x9 pan so I made it in my 8x8 glass pan. Came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2001
It's quick, easy, and cuts beautifully. I served it at a Oneg Shabbat luncheon with sour cream and homemade peach and strawberry jam. Three people asked for the recipe. It was not served hot--really just warm--and everyone loved it, even my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2001
I actually didn't make this, but a coworker did. It was wonderful! We all got the recipe from her. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
I made this for my mother's birthday brunch and it went over great. Very easy to prepare and make. Are family has always loved cheese blintzes and this way they can be prepared for a meal quickly. We just used cinnamon and sugar to top! The only thing I would change is the amount of salt (a bit too salty). Next time I will cut the salt in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
Delicious served with fresh fruit and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
I made this recipe after reading the reviews. I did not add the salt, but added a dash of vanilla. I served it with sour cream and a fruit preserve. The dish got rave reviews and will become a staple when I have to bring a "breakfast" dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
i grew up on blintzes. this is much easier. i would drop the salt from the cottage cheese mixture and add 1-2T sugar instead. and cinnamon, of course! this is somewhere between a blintz and lokshen kugel. yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
Super! I made this for brunch on Mother's Day, and it was a huge hit! (and really easy!) I served it warm with homemade Peach Preserves, sour cream and fresh berries. It was gone before the first batch of mimosas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Wonderful! I can't seem to find blintzes in my hometown, but this recipe really brings the taste home for me. The texture is wrong, but the taste is really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Dutch Babies II

See how to make these delicious and impressive brunch treats.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States