Blenty of Blintzes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
I've never understood how anyone can "review" a recipe that they've altered so I make most recipes the way they're written the first time I try them. This one is no exception and I'm glad I didn't change a thing! Moist, delicious, easy and economical to prepare. Oh I did change one thing...I don't have a 9x9 pan so I made it in my 8x8 glass pan. Came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
Super! I made this for brunch on Mother's Day, and it was a huge hit! (and really easy!) I served it warm with homemade Peach Preserves, sour cream and fresh berries. It was gone before the first batch of mimosas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
i grew up on blintzes. this is much easier. i would drop the salt from the cottage cheese mixture and add 1-2T sugar instead. and cinnamon, of course! this is somewhere between a blintz and lokshen kugel. yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
I made this recipe today and although it doesn't beat the "from scratch" method, it's quick, easy and yummy. I followed some of the suggestions (halving the salt and adding vanilla)and I decided to add a teaspoon of cinnamon to the cottage cheese mixture and it helped. Serving it with sour cream and homemade strawberry preserves rounded out the taste nicely. I would make this recipe again for a quick cheese blintze fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
It seems like I *never* follow a recipe - and sometimes it even happens when I'm not changing something on purpose! I made this for dinner tonight and, surprisingly with all the goofs, it came out just great! Not puffy, but still very good. I added vanilla and left out the salt, at the recommendation of others. Served this with chunks of cantaloupe on the side and some leftover baked spiral ham - everyone loved it! I'd make it again - next time trying to follow the recipe by not leaving out ingredients just to see what it is supposed to be like. 1. I inadvertently left out the baking powder. 2. I also inadvertently left the melted (instead of soft) butter in the microwave and forgot to add it to the cheese mixture, so poured it over the top of the cheese mixture instead. 3. I also didn’t have enough cottage cheese – only about 1 cup – so added about 1/4 cup sour cream instead of just a tablespoon. 4. I also sprinkled about 3/4 cup fresh blueberries over the top of the cheese before spooning the balance of the dough mixture on top. VERY good – and I think I would try peaches or sliced apples sometime, too. 5. I also made a mixture of raw sugar and cinnamon and sprinkled it over the top of the whole thing before baking. Also VERY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmartcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2004
I've adjusted the amount of butter/fat I've used in this recipe sometimes, because I prefer less. But with or without adjustment, this recipe is quickly becoming a staple for brunches in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
I made this recipe after reading the reviews. I did not add the salt, but added a dash of vanilla. I served it with sour cream and a fruit preserve. The dish got rave reviews and will become a staple when I have to bring a "breakfast" dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2003
This recipe was ok. While I was not expecting the recipe to be like a blintz or anything, it was pretty off of what I had hopes for. It ended up alot like spoonbread. I found the taste a bit too salty for some reason. I do have to admit that it was a taste that became addictive though. With warmed with lots of fruit, etc. I don't plan to make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
Delicious served with fresh fruit and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
Had requests for this recipe after serving at a family brunch. Changes: did not add salt, added a Tbsp. or so of sugar, served with warm fruit sauce and was GREAT. Even better the next day!P.S. Also consider a dash of pure vanilla...Easy & yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Dutch Babies II

See how to make these delicious and impressive brunch treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States