Blenty of Blintzes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Soooo good, I made it just as written .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Tastes like grandma's but a lot less work! Thank you so much for this recipe! I served it to my music group and my husband for lunch today and everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I began with no clear idea of how this should taste so I can't speak to the authenticity, but it was the star of our Sunday brunch. I used low fat cottage cheese and sour cream and it was still rich and satisfying. The flavor profile was a bit bland for us so I warmed some homemade raspberry preserves and dribbled just a bit of sweetness. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
The recipe did not turn out well. I layered half of the dough mixture on the bottom of a 9x9 baking dish and then filled with cottage cheese mixture, but was not able to apply a layer of dough on top without mixing it in the cottage cheese mixture. It turned out like a bread with cottage cheese clumps. There was no cheesy filling between two layers of bread. I am not sure what went wrong, but if the top layer of dough actually was placed on top and not mixed in the cottage cheese, it would have been better. Wont make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This was delicious! I don't have a 9X9, so I used an 8x13 and that was fine. I omit the salt and added 2 T of sugar to the filling, and a t of vanilla to the crust. I've also made it with regular small curd cottage cheese, instead of creamed. I was worried that the filling would be too loose, so I left out the sour cream and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Cut the salt as the reviews said and add sugar. Read reviews!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This stuff I LOVE!!!! I think the original recipe is great, but here is how I did the filling to take it up a notch. I used a 9x13 glass pan and doubled the recipe. I used the recipe for the crust as it was originally printed. Instead of the original filling I used the sour cream,added a 1/2 cup of sugar, a 16 oz carton of marscapone and a 16 oz carton of ricotta with only one egg and a slosh or two of Amaretto, no salt. In between the layers I added some granulated raw sugar and cinnamon. I baked this until I could see that both the top and the bottom crust were cooked. The filling was a bit soft still. NO PROBLEM, by the time this was served it was PERFECT! Then the day after this stuff is like a cheesecake, it is amazing on day two! I also served a sauce with this that was made using peach jam, with some Amaretto and a bit of cranberry sauce. OOO-LA_LA! Amazing! Thanks sooo much for this recipe! I will use it for many occassions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Poznan, Greater Poland, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
in spite of adding the vanilla, cinnamon, and extra sugar, my family thought this was still bland. Not a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Surprisingly good. I cut the salt down in the cheese mix and added a 1/2 tsp of sugar per other reviews. I think next time I will use ricotta in place of the cottage cheese. It is tastiest warm (I like it with strawberries) and it reheats well. UPDATE: I made this again, with ricotta and 1/4 cup cottage cheese in place of 16oz of cottage cheese. I added a liberal dash of orange liquer and it really made the cheese part of the dish better, made it taste more like crepes suzette. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Love this recipe, I've used it three years in a row for my Chanukah party and it always gets raves! Even my mother, who didn't think you could make a blintz without frying it asked for the recipe. Because I have a sweet tooth, I do, as many others have suggested, add 1 tblsp of Sugar, 1 tspn of vanilla and about 1/2 tspn of cinnamon. Thank you for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Holiday Leftovers Quiche

Easily turn holiday dinner leftovers into a delicious quiche.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States