Blenty of Blintzes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
I've never understood how anyone can "review" a recipe that they've altered so I make most recipes the way they're written the first time I try them. This one is no exception and I'm glad I didn't change a thing! Moist, delicious, easy and economical to prepare. Oh I did change one thing...I don't have a 9x9 pan so I made it in my 8x8 glass pan. Came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
i grew up on blintzes. this is much easier. i would drop the salt from the cottage cheese mixture and add 1-2T sugar instead. and cinnamon, of course! this is somewhere between a blintz and lokshen kugel. yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
Had requests for this recipe after serving at a family brunch. Changes: did not add salt, added a Tbsp. or so of sugar, served with warm fruit sauce and was GREAT. Even better the next day!P.S. Also consider a dash of pure vanilla...Easy & yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2001
It's quick, easy, and cuts beautifully. I served it at a Oneg Shabbat luncheon with sour cream and homemade peach and strawberry jam. Three people asked for the recipe. It was not served hot--really just warm--and everyone loved it, even my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This stuff I LOVE!!!! I think the original recipe is great, but here is how I did the filling to take it up a notch. I used a 9x13 glass pan and doubled the recipe. I used the recipe for the crust as it was originally printed. Instead of the original filling I used the sour cream,added a 1/2 cup of sugar, a 16 oz carton of marscapone and a 16 oz carton of ricotta with only one egg and a slosh or two of Amaretto, no salt. In between the layers I added some granulated raw sugar and cinnamon. I baked this until I could see that both the top and the bottom crust were cooked. The filling was a bit soft still. NO PROBLEM, by the time this was served it was PERFECT! Then the day after this stuff is like a cheesecake, it is amazing on day two! I also served a sauce with this that was made using peach jam, with some Amaretto and a bit of cranberry sauce. OOO-LA_LA! Amazing! Thanks sooo much for this recipe! I will use it for many occassions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Poznan, Greater Poland, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
I made this for my mother's birthday brunch and it went over great. Very easy to prepare and make. Are family has always loved cheese blintzes and this way they can be prepared for a meal quickly. We just used cinnamon and sugar to top! The only thing I would change is the amount of salt (a bit too salty). Next time I will cut the salt in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
It seems like I *never* follow a recipe - and sometimes it even happens when I'm not changing something on purpose! I made this for dinner tonight and, surprisingly with all the goofs, it came out just great! Not puffy, but still very good. I added vanilla and left out the salt, at the recommendation of others. Served this with chunks of cantaloupe on the side and some leftover baked spiral ham - everyone loved it! I'd make it again - next time trying to follow the recipe by not leaving out ingredients just to see what it is supposed to be like. 1. I inadvertently left out the baking powder. 2. I also inadvertently left the melted (instead of soft) butter in the microwave and forgot to add it to the cheese mixture, so poured it over the top of the cheese mixture instead. 3. I also didn’t have enough cottage cheese – only about 1 cup – so added about 1/4 cup sour cream instead of just a tablespoon. 4. I also sprinkled about 3/4 cup fresh blueberries over the top of the cheese before spooning the balance of the dough mixture on top. VERY good – and I think I would try peaches or sliced apples sometime, too. 5. I also made a mixture of raw sugar and cinnamon and sprinkled it over the top of the whole thing before baking. Also VERY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmartcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
in spite of adding the vanilla, cinnamon, and extra sugar, my family thought this was still bland. Not a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Love this recipe, I've used it three years in a row for my Chanukah party and it always gets raves! Even my mother, who didn't think you could make a blintz without frying it asked for the recipe. Because I have a sweet tooth, I do, as many others have suggested, add 1 tblsp of Sugar, 1 tspn of vanilla and about 1/2 tspn of cinnamon. Thank you for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This was delicious! I don't have a 9X9, so I used an 8x13 and that was fine. I omit the salt and added 2 T of sugar to the filling, and a t of vanilla to the crust. I've also made it with regular small curd cottage cheese, instead of creamed. I was worried that the filling would be too loose, so I left out the sour cream and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Dutch Babies II

See how to make these delicious and impressive brunch treats.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States