Blender Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
very rich! my first time making mousse and I think i let it cool for too long (we were late and served dessert about 2 hours later. still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This was too easy. I had never made mousse before, and this recipe made it so accesible. I followed the recipe exactly and will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
my mom found this recipe in the local paper back in the '70's and has been making it for decades. i'm very, very bad in the kitchen but have made this mousse quite successfully dozens of times. i came to this site trying to find the recipe since it was not in my collection and was thrilled to find it. just a note to those on milk-restricted diets: i make this with soy milk and egg starts to cut out dairy and cholesterol and it still rocks!! it's very easy and if you can boil milk in the microwave, you can make this mousse. i add fresh berries to a martini glass then pour a one person serving in, let it chill, add more berries on top and serve! it's great for dinner parties or even for large parties (i'll use wine glasses to chill it in). this is a great and super easy recipe that can be the jumping off point for really tasty and creative desserts. enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Though this mousse tasted great as is, I altered it so I could use it as a filling for a mint-mocha layer cake. These are the measurements I used: 4 oz. mint chocolate chips, 2 Tbsp. sugar, 1 egg, and 2 tsp. instant coffee dissolved in 3 Tbsp. hot milk. It thickened up perfectly and tasted great! For those of you who are new to the recipe, try reducing the sugar - the chocolate chips provide enough sweetness on their own. Thanks for the quick and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I'm used to mousse being a little lighter than this, so I think I'll do what another reviewer said and whip the egg whites separately. I also halved the recipe and didn't have any semi-sweet chocolate chips on hand, so I subbed 1 c. cocoa mixed w/5 T. melted shortening. I also used Mexican vanilla in place of the brandy, and the taste was phenomenal. I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I've been craving chocolate mousse....this one looked easy...and I had the ingredients....so gave it a try. WOW! EASY and YUMMY! I used half-and-half, since my other choice was skim, added two capfuls of RUM instead of the brandy....and this is FABULOUS! We ate one already, and will eat the rest after dinner, with a big dollop of whipped cream. My 11 y/o is looking forward to making this all by herself...and soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
I followed the exact recipe except no brandy. I think this is too rich for my taste. A little goes a long way. The mousse set up firmly after an hour in the fridge. Next time I will whip the egg whites separately for a lighter texture. Otherwise it is a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
I was worried because of some reviews, but I wanted to try this mousse anyway. I skipped on the brandy and I added 1/2 cup of heavy cream, but still, it didn't stiffen up. I put it in the fridge and forgot about it. After 24 hours, my daughter got them out of the fridge and guess what: it looked and tasted delicious!!! This is going to be one of my favorites! I even sold it in my shop! Thanks for sharing this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meurtelken

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
This turned out very well, everyone loved the intense chocolate experience. However, it was more like a pot au creme than like a mousse. I gradually added the hot milk as I blended the rest of the ingredients and it came out very well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lenox, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Housatonic, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
The mousse was very grainy and a little too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States