Blender Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I substituted Hazelnut-flavored liqueur for the brandy and the mousse was absolutely delicious! It is a bit rich and sweet but I expect that in a dessert. It was easy to make in the blender and after it set for an hour, I used it as a filling between cooled dark chocolate cake layers. I will definitely save this recipe for future use! I'd love to try different liqueur flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
First time I've made chocolate mousse. I followed the recipe exactly except what booze was used. The dessert was wonderful! If you do EXACTLY what is written it WILL turn out right. That said, I will cut back on the sugar to about 1/4c or even try it once with out sugar at all, as it is VERY sweet. It would be interesting to try it with some dark chocolate morsels too! Oh, and the booze... I used 3T of Kahlua and 1T of Triple Sec. I couldn't taste the flavor of the booze at all. Maybe just my taste buds, they ARE as old as I am!! lol! For a parting thought. I think the biggest reason some have problems with it not setting up is they may not be getting the milk hot enough. Did mine in a 1100w microwave for 2 minutes and the milk was 187* and the mousse set up within 3 hours. Four stars only because it was WAY TOO sweet. But there are so many things you can do with this recipe! Have fun with it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
For how simple this recipe is, the taste, texture and presentation are exquisite. I used roughly 3/4 c semi-sweet chocolate chips, 1/4 c white chocolate chips, 3 candy canes, 3 eggs, and 1 c milk. Followed the directions as written, when I checked the mousse about 3 hours later it was perfectly set. I might try beating the egg whites separately for a fluffier texture, but I thought that it was fine as prepared also. It was quite thick, might even be a suitable filling for a cake (one that could withstand considerable pressure when frosting). Kind of reminded me of truffle filling too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I didn´t have a blender handy, so I mixed the eggs with the sugar really well, then gently warmed up the milk and added to it the chocolate to melt. No brandy either, but I added some orange zest for added flavour. Then I added the chocolate milk to the egg mixture. It tastes great, but didn´t set. I´ll add some corn starch to it tomorrow and heat it again - it should set then. Other than not setting, I like it - it´s an easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I read all the reviews before making this and all I can say is it turned out to be a sweet disaster. First of all I used half semi sweet and half white chips, because that is what I had on hand. I decided to add a little cocoa powder to make up for the added sweetness of the white chips and also used no sugar. I used half a cup of half/half and half a cup of heavy whipping cream and I used 1 tsp of vanilla extract instead of the brandy. I made sure that my milk mixture was boiling before I poured it into the blender and I blended it very well. Unfortunately 24 hours later the texture is like a thin pudding or a thick ice cream topping that is overly sweet. If you melted fudge and let it cool for about 10 minutes... it would probably be about the same texture and flavor. I was hoping for something like pots de creme if not mousse but this is neither. I suppose I will have to go back to making both the traditional way. I think it may be salvagable if I whipped cream until it was fairly stiff (unsweetened) and then I folded this mixture into the cream. I think that wouldnt be too terrible. I may just try that later tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
i was a little leary (sp?) about the whole blender mousse thing, from a quality point of view, but i've gotta say, this was was absolutely off the charts tasty. I added rum instead of brandy, as it's what i had on hand, i usually can "smell" the egg in other blender mousses i have made, this was perfect....and egg was undetected - thanks for the recipe. definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I made this and it took so little time. I became egaer to eat it and whould check every few hours. It was still watery so I left it overnight and it was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavenly_cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Easy to make - if milk is scalding hot, it will set. Often described as a pot de creme due to its denseness. I never add sugar - plenty sweet as it is! My favorite version uses Cointreau (or another orange liqueur). This time I'm using Kahlua and pouring it into an Oreo crumb pie crust, and will top with toasted sweetened coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I've made this about 10 different times. I found that by subbing some whipping cream for the milk the results are much heavier. I recently used 2% milk, double the brandy and let the mixer blend on high for about 3 minutes. It was much lighter and more like mousse than previous versions. I get raves everywhere I take this. Topped with real whipped cream, fresh rasberries and a sprig of mint turns this into a sensational desert fit for the pickiest guest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
this is a very simple and yummy mousse.my family loved it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States