Blender Chocolate Mousse II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This was really delicious and quite rich! I made it just as directed, except I omitted the brandy. Next time I think I will use some orange flavored liqueur.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I would call this a chocolate paste rather then a mousse, but it is very tasty nonetheless. I made it with a stickblender and used crème de menthe instead of brandy and dark chocolate instead of semisweet. The result was a very lovely "after eight" dessert. First I blended the sugar with the crème de menthe and the eggs. After that I blended the chocolate in and the hot milk last. Gave it a few more pulses before pouring into the bowls. The dessert set up for me in about 1 to 2 hours in the fridge. I think this recipe would also make a marvelous cake filling and icing. Will try that with a chocolate cake and cointreau instead of brandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Like others, the mousse never set up. I think the directions may be unclear, because the top layer was mousse-like but the rest was pure liquid. The taste was good though (with half the sugar and just a splash of brandy and vanilla) so I may try again and keep it mixing for much longer, until the consistency looks more foamy and less liquidy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
all I can say is WOW! I used Heavy whipping cream in place of the milk and added vanilla extract and Kahlua in place of the brandy. Those that are complaining about this being too rich and sweet I don't get! Chocolate Mousse is supposed to be rich and sweet! Wonderful topped with freshly whipped cream and sliced strawberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Used 2T rum extract instead of brandy, but it didn't set after hours in frig, so I moved it to the freezer where it mostly firmed up, except for a tiny bit in the middle that stayed runny. If you remove the brandy and don't sub another alcohol, cut back on the sugar. This is very rich, so portions would be enough at 1/4 C. I probably won't bother with this again, and will look for a more reliable recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Good and easy! I cut the sugar back to 1/4 c and made the batch without alcohol. I poured most of the mixture into the cups and returned a small amount of the mixture back to the blender and added Irish Baileys Creme. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by euphgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This was so tasty! I cut sugar to 1/4 C. In place of brandy, we used some starbucks liquor since that's all we had. It was SOOOO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Awesome quick dessert! I used a giant dark chocolate bar I had on hand and took the sugar down to just 1/4 cup. Also, I used Irish creme for the liqueur. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericasalad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I too used Kahlua, will try brandy next time *but* it's already perfect. I used 1/4 cup sugar to make it less sweet, and also used 1/2 & 1/2 instead of milk. Don't know what some people are doing but mine set up perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This is really a easy recipe, but very rich. You have to be sure the milk is quite hot. I use Kahlua instead of brandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States