Blarney Stone - Kissed Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
A little confused by reviews that say this cookies is bitter. Perhaps your cocoa isn't the best quality? I used Ghiardelli, mine were very nice, a little bland if anything. However these cookies are supposed to be a chocolate version of a shortbread cookie, which is traditionally not a very sweet cookie. Sometimes I think Americans are so used to their food being loaded with sugar they can't appreciate more delicate flavors...the icing on top gave it just enought sweetness for us. In fact I left off the kiss for my husband and me, only the kids wanted them. A cute little cookie for St. Patty's day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I left the cocoa out of these because I was out of it, but I added a few chocolate chips to add chocolate flavor. My husband liked them better than my regular chocolate chip cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
Great St. Pat's Day cookie. Very good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Not very good at all, the cookies taste like cocoa powder with a bitter after taste. The frosting makes it a little better, but not much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
I thought this cookie tasted like an imitation of what a real chocolate cookie should taste like. It was a very bland cookie, and the only "sweetness" that the cookie had was the hershey kiss:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
This is basically a chocolate refrigerator cookie all dressed up for St. Patrick's Day. The cookies look adorable, but I think the chocolate kiss overwhelms them a bit, and would leave it off next time. The cookie itself is delicious - could probably be adapted for Halloween with an orange glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2003
These cookies were fantastic - my husband and I could not stop eating them! I decided to skip the hershey kisses and, instead, covered the cookies lightly with a green mint glaze - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
Other reviews said these cookies were bitter...I did NOT think so. They were delicious. I used mint chocolate kisses and used mint extract in the frosting instead of vanilla. It was a very nice mint-chocolate flavor. Yummy and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
These cookies were relatively easy to make. I made the dough a day ahead, and then baked them off the next day. I found that if you push the Kisses into the cookie, rather than just placing it on top, the cookie tends to split in half when picked up. The taste is not bad, but not outstanding either. I changed the name to "Kiss My Blarney Stone" cookies.I would keep these as a stand by, but I don't think they will be a St. Patrick's Day staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
I made these for a St. Patrick's Day dinner this year. Easy and quite good! The chocolate is more bitter, but wonderful with the Kiss chocolate on top! I used a cut corner of a plastic baggie to put on the frosting. Great looking and great tasting! We enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMoore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States