Blame the Dog Bean Casserole (Kielbasa and Bean Dish) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This was quite yummy. I had to alter it slightly due to what I had on hand, and personal preferences. I added a little more celery, black beans instead of kidney, crushed tomatoes rather than tomato sauce and only a little bit of red wine and ketchup. It was just sweet enough, but not overpoweringly. My picky 10 year old daughter ate most of what I put on her plate, and that is a miracle because I didn't think she would eat anything but the meat. As for cooking it, I added all the ingredients to a large cast iron skillet and cooked it on the stove for about 20 minutes before putting it in a 400°F oven for another 20 minutes and it came out very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This was good. I liked the wine in it. It's a grown up beans and weenies :) Honestly wasn't a fan of the kidney beans in this but that was just me. And I forgot the celery :S Oops. I cooked this on the stove not in the oven. So I added 2T butter to brown the sausage and cook the onion in. Then added everything else and just let it simmer on the stove until it thickened up. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I doubled the onion and left out the celery and used liquid smoke instead of worcestershire, since that's all I had. It had a lot of flavor and only took a few minutes to assemble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I adapted this a bit, since neither my husband or I liked ketchup and I didn't have canned baked beans on hand. I used barbecue sauce and all navy beans which I cooked up from scratch. Was tasty served with a side of garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I added a bit of diced jalapeno to give it a kick. Skipped the celery, just didn't seem to fit. Super, the kids really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvette Davis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
DH liked this one. I liked it okay. The kids ate it but didn't rave over it. I might have over dashed the W.shire. I will make it again though. Maybe used diced tomatos rather than sauce. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Too sweet. Didn't like this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
used turkey sausage and turkey dogs. yummy, filling and perfect on a budget! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Excellent! I added 1/2# of bacon, and browned the sausage and vegetables in about a T of the bacon grease. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Brown the sausages in oven=proof skillet; add remaining ingredients and put right into oven. Remember to leave this uncovered; the point is to thicken the sauce to be more like a gummy paste; sounds gross but tastes very good. I would make again, but my husband does not like baked beans any way you fix them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States