Blake's Best Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
Absoultely Fabulous!!! Didn't change a thing except cheated & used my Foreman grill ;) Thanks Blake for an EASY but Delicious recipe!! Too many recipes call for an absurd amount of ingredients that overkill the food itself-this is simplicity at its finest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
There is a reason this recipe is called Blakes "Best" Steak - it is wonderful! I prepared the steaks exactly as listed in the recipe - they were delicious! My son sometimes melts butter on steaks (ala Ruth Chris) - there was no butter needed on these steaks - and they were just as good (or even better) than what you get in a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
My husband and I LOVED it!!! I used dried rosemary instead of fresh. The only problems was my kids wanted the "dirt" off the steak, haha. Cant please everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
I made this recipe for my in-laws (7 people) and they LOVED it! I am a vegetarian so I didn't try it but the aroma left around the house was great. I love using rosemary so this dish was perfect. It was a definite success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
I was looking for a non-marinating recipe to use on a really good cut of beef. I thought this sounded perfect, but it really didn't add much to the steak than if I had grilled it as is. I didn't get much rosemary flavour, even though I used 2 fresh springs on each steak. It's probably my grilling technique...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Great flavor especially after adding a pat of butter to each piece of steak. My rosemary sprigs caught on fire which in turn made the steak a little well done, so next time I'll keep a closer eye on things! Made a great meal along with some fresh made french bread. Check out the Fabulous French bread recipe! Thanks again~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I didn't think the steak would get much flavor by the way the recipe sounded, and true to form--I was right. Placing the rosemary sprigs on top of the steak might be ok for aesthetics---but for flavor? No. Nothing was accomplished here but wasting a sprig of rosemary and a light, almost imperceptible garlic flavor. Wow. Some of these so-called "recipes" slay me. This isn't even a "recipe." It's a steak rubbed with some garlic and placed on the grill. Please, people. Try a bit harder next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
So glad to see steak treated simply. The rosemary is a lovely idea and I have had lots of fresh this year. We do like to taste our meat rather than overpower it. Thanks for submitting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
This was very good. I let them sit in the fridge for about an hour (with rosemary on top) after seasoning them. I also added the zest of a lemon to the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
We did NY strips with this recipe and while they were very good, there wasn't much rosemary flavor. Like a couple others we melted butter on top. Goes great with a baked potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

The Best Steak Marinade

See how to make a super-simple, full-flavor marinade for grilled beef.

Best Steak Marinade in Existence

See how to make this sensational five-star steak marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States