Blake's Best Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
Absoultely Fabulous!!! Didn't change a thing except cheated & used my Foreman grill ;) Thanks Blake for an EASY but Delicious recipe!! Too many recipes call for an absurd amount of ingredients that overkill the food itself-this is simplicity at its finest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
There is a reason this recipe is called Blakes "Best" Steak - it is wonderful! I prepared the steaks exactly as listed in the recipe - they were delicious! My son sometimes melts butter on steaks (ala Ruth Chris) - there was no butter needed on these steaks - and they were just as good (or even better) than what you get in a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
My husband and I LOVED it!!! I used dried rosemary instead of fresh. The only problems was my kids wanted the "dirt" off the steak, haha. Cant please everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
I made this recipe for my in-laws (7 people) and they LOVED it! I am a vegetarian so I didn't try it but the aroma left around the house was great. I love using rosemary so this dish was perfect. It was a definite success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
I was looking for a non-marinating recipe to use on a really good cut of beef. I thought this sounded perfect, but it really didn't add much to the steak than if I had grilled it as is. I didn't get much rosemary flavour, even though I used 2 fresh springs on each steak. It's probably my grilling technique...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Great flavor especially after adding a pat of butter to each piece of steak. My rosemary sprigs caught on fire which in turn made the steak a little well done, so next time I'll keep a closer eye on things! Made a great meal along with some fresh made french bread. Check out the Fabulous French bread recipe! Thanks again~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I didn't think the steak would get much flavor by the way the recipe sounded, and true to form--I was right. Placing the rosemary sprigs on top of the steak might be ok for aesthetics---but for flavor? No. Nothing was accomplished here but wasting a sprig of rosemary and a light, almost imperceptible garlic flavor. Wow. Some of these so-called "recipes" slay me. This isn't even a "recipe." It's a steak rubbed with some garlic and placed on the grill. Please, people. Try a bit harder next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
So glad to see steak treated simply. The rosemary is a lovely idea and I have had lots of fresh this year. We do like to taste our meat rather than overpower it. Thanks for submitting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
This was very good. I let them sit in the fridge for about an hour (with rosemary on top) after seasoning them. I also added the zest of a lemon to the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
We did NY strips with this recipe and while they were very good, there wasn't much rosemary flavor. Like a couple others we melted butter on top. Goes great with a baked potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

The Best Steak Marinade

See how to make a super-simple, full-flavor marinade for grilled beef.

Best Steak Marinade in Existence

See how to make this sensational five-star steak marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States