Blackjack Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
I had a small trimmed brisket (2 lb) and made the smaller version of this recipe, excluding the beer-we just don't care for that flavor anywhere, and substituted 2 T of Bourbon instead. I spread the sauce directly on the meat & added the onion, and layered on 4 pieces of uncooked bacon, then added the rest of the sauce. Since the meat was already trimmed lean the bacon was added for additional flavor, the brisket had been in the freezer forever. The result was simply Fantasic! My husband and I will keep this recipe forever! Can't wait till the whole family crowd is here, the kids and grandkids will love it too! Thanks for such a great easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANCHIP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
Tried this like it was suggested cooking with the beer and spices first for 6 hours then poured that off sliced it then added the sauce did add 2 tsp of bourbon to the sauce returning for the remainer of the cooking time. I have to say this one is a keeper. I am a newcomer to the website and this is my first review. Want to thank all of you for your recipes, reviews and suggestion. I love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
In addition to the recipe, I let the marinade sit overnight in the refrigerator. This beef is soooooo good. It's tasty, tender and great for leftover sandwiches. MMMMMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
Why can't you have 10 stars when necessary? Two other people I passed this on to would give it 10! I did mine in the crock pot with the onions first then the brisket for at least 6 hours. Since we had to cut it down, I wonder, at 6 a.m., what do you do with the leftover beer?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
Very good. I've made it twice, both times using a smaller cut brisket, so I cut everything in half,except the garlic,and only used a quarter cup molasses(my husband's not a sweet person!). The first time I made it, I used the beer and poured the sauce over the meat, but at the end of cooking, the sauce was all watery and bland. I don't know if you are supposed to use a rack in the roasting pan, maybe that would have been different, oh well. So the second time I measured out a quarter cup beer and put it in the sauce mixture and poured the rest of the beer over the meat along with some extra liquid smoke, and put it in the oven without the sauce over it, after about 3 hours I took it out and dumped out the majority of the juice and then covered it with the sauce, put it back in for a couple hours, took it out and sliced it up, put it back in for an hour, and OMG was it good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
Enjoyed this recipe very much. I used Mesquite smoke instead of hickory, was wonderful. I baked it the day before, and then sliced it, but extra sauce over it, and baked it the next day for about an hour, to heat it up real good. The brisket just fell apart. Will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
OK recipe. The meat was really tender but I thought the sauce was much too sweet. I will use the same cooking method again but will cut back on the molasses. It was overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
Yes, I would make this again. I think getting an untrimmed brisket is also key. I couldn't find blackjack maple syrup, so just used whatever maple syrup I could find. Turned out great, and it wasn't "stringy"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
Very tender, my picky Granddaughter liked it and she never likes anything that is not shoved through a window , will make again, thanks, Joyce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This brisket turned out very well, but like many others on this site I played with it a bit. 1. Used beer 2. Left out the molasses 3. Used one 6 oz. bottle of cayenne pepper sauce (I used Trappey's Red Devil, don't worry, it's not hot) 4. Mixed all the ingredients, except the onions which I just threw on top of the brisket, then poured it over the brisket 5. I used an oven bag (these are great for slow cooking). Save the leftover liquid (there will be a lot) as a makeshift BBQ sauce. You can use the oven bag as a gravy seperator by holding it up for a minute letting the fat flow to the top, then poke a hole in the bottom of the bag pouring the liquid into another container. If you have an actual gravy seperator, that's even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fd

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

See how to make this tasty slow-cooked beef brisket.

Braised Corned Beef Brisket

Perfect corned beef brisket is super simple to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States