Blackjack Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Excellent. I made mine in the crockpot and it was still excellent. Made superb brisket sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAXYBONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This was excellent and loved by all. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seymour, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
While I normally cook brisket in my crock-pot .. This recipe saved me when my crock-pot hit the dust the morning I needed it. Because of the altitude I live at (7700ft) I did end up adding a little H2O and extra beer. It turned out great! (I used an amber beer, which I think added to the flavor)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I also made a smaller version of this recipe due to the size of brisket I got. I used half a bottle of beer. I followed most of the recipe and the changes I made were very minor; such as adding 2 tbs. bourbon and also using Hickory flavored Liquid Smoke. Now after having made this I have to say that it was good but we weren't blown away by this recipe. I think that we like to have a nice rub made with a spice mixture because the flavor in this was just ok for us. The reason I am still giving it a four star rating is because it turned out moist and tasted better the next day. Maybe like others suggested, it just needed to marinate for a while longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This recipe just didn't provide as much flavor as we had hoped for. The brisket was tender but lacked in the taste department. My search for a great brisket recipe will continue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grant, Michigan, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This was a delicious recipe. It was the first brisket I ever made and everyone highly enjoyed it!! Thank you so much for sharing! I followed the recipe exactly and opted not to use the beer. Great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This brisket turned out very well, but like many others on this site I played with it a bit. 1. Used beer 2. Left out the molasses 3. Used one 6 oz. bottle of cayenne pepper sauce (I used Trappey's Red Devil, don't worry, it's not hot) 4. Mixed all the ingredients, except the onions which I just threw on top of the brisket, then poured it over the brisket 5. I used an oven bag (these are great for slow cooking). Save the leftover liquid (there will be a lot) as a makeshift BBQ sauce. You can use the oven bag as a gravy seperator by holding it up for a minute letting the fat flow to the top, then poke a hole in the bottom of the bag pouring the liquid into another container. If you have an actual gravy seperator, that's even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fd

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
This recipe is great. I had never cooked a brisket before this. Everyone loved it. We tried it last night with pork country style ribs (boneless). These are usually a pretty tough choice of meat and they turned out incredible. I think we liked it even better than with the beef! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Very good brisket. It was very tender and had a wonderful flavor. Everyone went back for seconds and thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stover, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
We LOVE this recipe! It is the most tender, flavorful, delicious way I have ever tasted beef. For my annual Thanksgiving dinner at work, I took this in and was so pleased with the multitude of compliments I received and the number of requests for the recipe. It has been a gigantic hit with everyone that I have prepared it for. (A month before our next dinner, I was inundated by my coworkers with pleas to bring it in again!;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

How to Grill Steaks

See the simple trick to grilling tender, juicy steaks every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States