Blackjack Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
In addition to the recipe, I let the marinade sit overnight in the refrigerator. This beef is soooooo good. It's tasty, tender and great for leftover sandwiches. MMMMMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
Why can't you have 10 stars when necessary? Two other people I passed this on to would give it 10! I did mine in the crock pot with the onions first then the brisket for at least 6 hours. Since we had to cut it down, I wonder, at 6 a.m., what do you do with the leftover beer?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
Used this recipe for a party of 35-40 (mostly South Texans), who didn't think a brisket should be cooked any other way than over indirect heat on the grill. Brisket was incredible!! Everyone complemented on how good it was. Quick prep time and easy recipe, will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
Tried this like it was suggested cooking with the beer and spices first for 6 hours then poured that off sliced it then added the sauce did add 2 tsp of bourbon to the sauce returning for the remainer of the cooking time. I have to say this one is a keeper. I am a newcomer to the website and this is my first review. Want to thank all of you for your recipes, reviews and suggestion. I love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
Yes, I would make this again. I think getting an untrimmed brisket is also key. I couldn't find blackjack maple syrup, so just used whatever maple syrup I could find. Turned out great, and it wasn't "stringy"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
Oh yeah! This is so tender you could just keep coming for seconds. A real good recipe. THANKS>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
Very good. I've made it twice, both times using a smaller cut brisket, so I cut everything in half,except the garlic,and only used a quarter cup molasses(my husband's not a sweet person!). The first time I made it, I used the beer and poured the sauce over the meat, but at the end of cooking, the sauce was all watery and bland. I don't know if you are supposed to use a rack in the roasting pan, maybe that would have been different, oh well. So the second time I measured out a quarter cup beer and put it in the sauce mixture and poured the rest of the beer over the meat along with some extra liquid smoke, and put it in the oven without the sauce over it, after about 3 hours I took it out and dumped out the majority of the juice and then covered it with the sauce, put it back in for a couple hours, took it out and sliced it up, put it back in for an hour, and OMG was it good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
I loved this brisket it was my first one ever and it turned out great. Lots of sooner fans really enjoyed it for the big game. I am making it again this saturday
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
Very tender, my picky Granddaughter liked it and she never likes anything that is not shoved through a window , will make again, thanks, Joyce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
I had a small trimmed brisket (2 lb) and made the smaller version of this recipe, excluding the beer-we just don't care for that flavor anywhere, and substituted 2 T of Bourbon instead. I spread the sauce directly on the meat & added the onion, and layered on 4 pieces of uncooked bacon, then added the rest of the sauce. Since the meat was already trimmed lean the bacon was added for additional flavor, the brisket had been in the freezer forever. The result was simply Fantasic! My husband and I will keep this recipe forever! Can't wait till the whole family crowd is here, the kids and grandkids will love it too! Thanks for such a great easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANCHIP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

See how to make this tasty slow-cooked beef brisket.

Braised Corned Beef Brisket

Perfect corned beef brisket is super simple to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States