Blackjack Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
We LOVE this recipe! It is the most tender, flavorful, delicious way I have ever tasted beef. For my annual Thanksgiving dinner at work, I took this in and was so pleased with the multitude of compliments I received and the number of requests for the recipe. It has been a gigantic hit with everyone that I have prepared it for. (A month before our next dinner, I was inundated by my coworkers with pleas to bring it in again!;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This recipe is excellent. It was fairly easy to make, and it was a big hit with the family. I had a 5 lb brisket and made the sauce the night before for convenience. I followed the directions exactly (taking into consideration the smaller brisket with the cooking time) and opted to use the beer. The brisket turned out very tender and flavorful. I will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
This was decent. The meat was very tender. No what I was looking for in flavor, but not bad either. Might try again... probably will keep looking also. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
We thought this was great! Maybe add just a little more liquid smoke the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eldon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
OK recipe. The meat was really tender but I thought the sauce was much too sweet. I will use the same cooking method again but will cut back on the molasses. It was overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
Oh yeah! This is so tender you could just keep coming for seconds. A real good recipe. THANKS>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
Tried this like it was suggested cooking with the beer and spices first for 6 hours then poured that off sliced it then added the sauce did add 2 tsp of bourbon to the sauce returning for the remainer of the cooking time. I have to say this one is a keeper. I am a newcomer to the website and this is my first review. Want to thank all of you for your recipes, reviews and suggestion. I love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
I had a small trimmed brisket (2 lb) and made the smaller version of this recipe, excluding the beer-we just don't care for that flavor anywhere, and substituted 2 T of Bourbon instead. I spread the sauce directly on the meat & added the onion, and layered on 4 pieces of uncooked bacon, then added the rest of the sauce. Since the meat was already trimmed lean the bacon was added for additional flavor, the brisket had been in the freezer forever. The result was simply Fantasic! My husband and I will keep this recipe forever! Can't wait till the whole family crowd is here, the kids and grandkids will love it too! Thanks for such a great easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
Very tender, my picky Granddaughter liked it and she never likes anything that is not shoved through a window , will make again, thanks, Joyce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
Very good. I've made it twice, both times using a smaller cut brisket, so I cut everything in half,except the garlic,and only used a quarter cup molasses(my husband's not a sweet person!). The first time I made it, I used the beer and poured the sauce over the meat, but at the end of cooking, the sauce was all watery and bland. I don't know if you are supposed to use a rack in the roasting pan, maybe that would have been different, oh well. So the second time I measured out a quarter cup beer and put it in the sauce mixture and poured the rest of the beer over the meat along with some extra liquid smoke, and put it in the oven without the sauce over it, after about 3 hours I took it out and dumped out the majority of the juice and then covered it with the sauce, put it back in for a couple hours, took it out and sliced it up, put it back in for an hour, and OMG was it good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

How to Grill Steaks

See the simple trick to grilling tender, juicy steaks every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States