Blackened Tuna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
This was the best tuna I ever had! I cooked it in a iron skillet that I let heat up on the gas grill till it was smoking. Cooked 3 min. per side. Am making again for company New Years Eve. THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This was good. Hubby bought some fresh "tuna cubes". Had no idea what to do with them....and then found this recipe. The seasoning was a little bit much, wanted more tuna flavor and less cajun. Will definately make again, but will reduce the amount of seasonings to suit our tastes. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
A friend had given me her old used Farberware electric fry pan. So, after reading all the comments about smoke inside other's kitchen's, I decided to 'take it outside.' This was the first time I had blackened tuna; my husband said it was perfect. No cleanup of splatters b/c they were outdoors!!! No smoke inside the house! The frypan cleaned up easily after cooling as well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fallston, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Made this recipe with mahi mahi instead of tuna and it was fabulous! Left out the butter and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Papillion, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
Excellent dish, excellent dish. Seared blackened ahi is a yummy dinner indeed, indeed. Pudgy hubby loves it too. Use less cajun so it's less salty, less salty. And don't use butter - no need, no need. Cook for a lot shorter time, too - much shorter... about 1 to 1.5 mins on each side for a rare steak. BE SURE NOT TO OVERCOOK and ruin your beautiful ahi. Enjoy, enjoy. (By the way, Anoose that it was quite explosive.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
i have never had fresh tuna before, and wow this was delishco!! even my 7mth old daughter had it all mushed up and ate the lot!! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buttonmoon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chichester, Sussex, England, U.K.
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
Was very good and easy...used opah for the fish, which is easily found here in Hawaii.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
this was a little spicy for my taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
This was very good. I cooked two half-pound tuna steaks for 3.5 minutes per side and it came out done medium-rare. I cooked it in a cast iron skillet and did have issues with the smoke in the kitchen -I had the fan going on high I had to open the doors in the house to get the smoke out. For the spices, I used cajun seasoning mix from the store and added additional cayenne pepper, paprika, garlic powder, and a little white pepper. When it was done, I squeezed a little lemon juice on top. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
Oh, this recipe is outstanding!! I make this often...no changes, it's great just as is. Usually I serve this with a mayonnaise-dill sauce, and a side of baked, spiced veggies...potato, pepper, and red onion chunks. Thanks, my family loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Olive Oil Poached Tuna

Ahi tuna steaks are gently poached in olive oil until perfectly tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States