Blackened Tuna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This was very good though I did overcook it. I think my pan was a little too hot and they don't take very long at all. I think I could have cooked it for a little less time. I will make again as it was so simple and quick though I will be sure to not get my pan too hot next time. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna McNabb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Sanilac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Followed recipe exactly and was simple and delicious....would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This was my first attempt at cooking fresh tuna steaks, and it was a huge success. Even the fussy eaters in our home enjoyed it! We follow a low sodium diet, so I used the following recipe to make a sodium free cajun seasoning: 1 Tbsp garlic powder, 1Tbsp onion powder, 2 tsp white pepper, 2 tsp black pepper, 1 1/2 tsp ground cayenne pepper, 2 tsp dried thyme, 1/2 tsp dried oregano. As other reviewers stated, the tuna smokes as it cooks. It also gets quite black, but it is not burned... the blackening adds a delicious grilled flavore to the fish. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Emmaus, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Delicious! My wife and I loved it. I would only cook the tuna for 2 minutes on each side however. I followed other reviewers suggestions and decreased the amount of butter. I also spiked our Penzey Cajun Seasoning with extra cayenne pepper and garlic powder. We did not have an issue with too much salt, even though salt was the second ingredient on the list. Highly recommend this recipe. Also note, this will produce a lot of smoke. We had our exhaust fan running on high, but we were still coughing at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
I really liked this and so did my whole family! It was super quick and tasted great. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Instead of using tuna I used Mahi Mahi steaks and they were great. Do make sure you have sufficient ventilation first though because there will be smoke. The only reason I have this recipe a 4 instead of 5 is that using so much seasoning made it a little salty for my taste but no one else complained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Ree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
great recipe for tuna steaks! perfect amount of spice....even my picky 2 year old loved it!! will definately be adding this to my recipe box
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This was a quick easy recipe. I loved the cajun spice but agree with the other reviews that it was too salty. Will google a cajun spice mix next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
our tuna steaks were almost 2 inches thick, and 90 seconds per side was too long. definitely will only put them on 45 seconds or so per side next time. I used Tony Chachere's Cajun Seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
WAY too salty using the creole seasoning. Next time I will make my own seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Olive Oil Poached Tuna

Ahi tuna steaks are gently poached in olive oil until perfectly tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States