Blackened Tuna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2001
I first had blackened tuna a few weeks ago at a buffet in a casino. I am not sure how this was my first time since I have lived in Louisiana for 24 years but it was. Well as soon as I got home I searched and found this recipe for blackened tuna. A few days later I had a friend over and we tried this recipe and what a success. It matched closely to the blackened tuna I had at the casino and possibly turned out better. This recipe is very simple and takes little time. The only thing you need to watch out for is buying a cajun/creole seasoning without salt. Because of the generous amount of seasoning you will put on the tuna, the salt content is extremely high if you choose a cajun seasoning with salt. Just a tip for people who need to watch their salt content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
This was really simple, easy, and, most importatly, absolutely delicious! Warning though: open up your windows and turn off the smoke detectors when cooking this because it does get smokey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2004
Great recipe. You can also make on the gas grill by using a black iron skillet. Heat the skillet on medium heat for 15 minutes. Half the butter/oil and pour a small amount in skillet. Season tuna steak and put in skillet. Smoke will be intense when you first put steaks in skillet. Pour rest of butter/oil on steaks then turn. Cook for same amount of time as original recipe calls for. Steaks will be nice and blackened. I also use this recipe for swordfish. Very delicious too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
This recipe was great. It was my first time making fresh tuna and I will make it again. I sprayed the pan with olive oil flavored spray to reduce calories and fat, then added the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
I buy the blackening seasoning from the fish market, but have tried both and either way is very good! Although, a small suggestion...Make this on the grill! If you enjoy the air quality in your house you will not attempt this one indoors! The first time we made super spicy blackened tuna indoors we couldn't breathe! The best way to cook is to use a seasoned cast iron pan and lid and stick on the grill. Make sure your grill is hot so you can seal in the moisture of the tuna and always be careful not to overcook. You can read about seasoning your cast iron pan on the internet, at about . com.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
Husband loved it! More salty than spicy, so I think next time I will add cayenne and garlic powder to the Cajun/Creole seasoning to bring up the flavor without over-salting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
We love to make sashami grade tuna this way. (just about every time it's on sale!) It's so quick and delicious. Just a quick tip- get the Cajun seasoning without salt that way you can use lots of seasoning and add salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
Fantastic!!! We like our tuna medium rare so we cooked for 2 to 2 1/2 mins. per side and turned out wonderful. Served with black beans and rice and a salad. We will be making this many more times! Thanks for the great recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
Exceptional! My favorite tuna steak recipe. I use enough cajun seasoning to generously cover the steaks... I don't go by the 2 TBSP. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindseyerin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
My boyfriend said it was the best fish he ever had!! It was so quick and the taste was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Olive Oil Poached Tuna

Ahi tuna steaks are gently poached in olive oil until perfectly tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States