Blackened Tuna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This was a quick easy recipe. I loved the cajun spice but agree with the other reviews that it was too salty. Will google a cajun spice mix next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
our tuna steaks were almost 2 inches thick, and 90 seconds per side was too long. definitely will only put them on 45 seconds or so per side next time. I used Tony Chachere's Cajun Seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
WAY too salty using the creole seasoning. Next time I will make my own seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Simply Excellent or should I say simple and excellent :-)! This was a wonderful dish that was quick and easy to make. I was a bit nervous about making it at first given all the reviews that talk about the the intense smoke and fumes that arise from searing the tuna, especially since I had no desire to open my windows up in the dead of winter to ventilate my kitchen. But I didn't have to worry, I turned my stove ventilation system on high and it sucked up all the intense smells and the tuna seared great! My family just loved this and we will definitely be making this again and again and again! Note: I did make one adjustment to the recipe I added lemon pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Really great tasting. I added lemon pepper as well for an extra kick. served with saffron rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaliforniaBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Wales, New York, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
wonderful!!!!!! I seriously doubted this recipe due to its simplicity, but WOW was i wrong!!! I made my own Cajun seasoning (google it) and it formed this beautiful crust on the tuna. IMPORTANT--if this is your first time cooking tuna, you need to make sure your pan is very very very hot before you SEAR the steaks. Otherwise it will be very dry. The best part is that it only took 10 minutes from start to finish!!! Served on top of herbed rice with a little mango/black bean salsa to cut the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mount Laurel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
OH MY!! This was awesome. I was marinating tuna for dinner the next day and had one extra tuna steak... so tried this recipe. I honestly wasn't expecting too much, but BOY was I wrong. I can't wait to buy some more tuna steaks so I can prepare this for my husband. This is my favorite way to prepare... and EAT tuna now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DitzyDame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
PERFECTION! This recipe is spot on, the seasoning is perfect and it is so easy to prepare. I served it thinly sliced on a bed of spring mix lettuce with sliced tomatoes, green onions, candied walnuts and little Rothchild Farms Ginger Wasabi Sauce. Can't wait to make this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
A waste of good Ahi tuna. This was way to salty using the Cajun seasoning & when I'd printed the recipe (long time ago) I didn't notice anyone mentioning to cut back because of it. My husband even rinsed the tuna off by it didn't make that much difference. We like Cajun food, but this was not to our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Olive Oil Poached Tuna

Ahi tuna steaks are gently poached in olive oil until perfectly tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States