Blackened Tuna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Delicious and VERY EASY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This recipe is exactly how they do it in the high dollar restaurants! I usually marinate my tuna steaks and grill them but I enjoyed this even better and it's so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I followed this recipe to a "T" and it was great. The equal parts olive oil and butter was just perfect! We do like heat and I was afraid of saltiness so next time I'll add some cayenne as some other reviewers mentioned. Squeeze a fresh lemon on this when done and serve with garlic cheese grits. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Did recipe as it except for 33% percent less sodium old bay cajun. Pam instead of butter! A keeper. So easy....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This was very good though I did overcook it. I think my pan was a little too hot and they don't take very long at all. I think I could have cooked it for a little less time. I will make again as it was so simple and quick though I will be sure to not get my pan too hot next time. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna McNabb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Sanilac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Followed recipe exactly and was simple and delicious....would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This was my first attempt at cooking fresh tuna steaks, and it was a huge success. Even the fussy eaters in our home enjoyed it! We follow a low sodium diet, so I used the following recipe to make a sodium free cajun seasoning: 1 Tbsp garlic powder, 1Tbsp onion powder, 2 tsp white pepper, 2 tsp black pepper, 1 1/2 tsp ground cayenne pepper, 2 tsp dried thyme, 1/2 tsp dried oregano. As other reviewers stated, the tuna smokes as it cooks. It also gets quite black, but it is not burned... the blackening adds a delicious grilled flavore to the fish. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Emmaus, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Delicious! My wife and I loved it. I would only cook the tuna for 2 minutes on each side however. I followed other reviewers suggestions and decreased the amount of butter. I also spiked our Penzey Cajun Seasoning with extra cayenne pepper and garlic powder. We did not have an issue with too much salt, even though salt was the second ingredient on the list. Highly recommend this recipe. Also note, this will produce a lot of smoke. We had our exhaust fan running on high, but we were still coughing at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
I really liked this and so did my whole family! It was super quick and tasted great. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Instead of using tuna I used Mahi Mahi steaks and they were great. Do make sure you have sufficient ventilation first though because there will be smoke. The only reason I have this recipe a 4 instead of 5 is that using so much seasoning made it a little salty for my taste but no one else complained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Ree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Making Spicy Tuna Rolls

Learn how to make spicy tuna sushi rolls at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States