Blackened Tuna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaliforniaBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Wales, New York, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
wonderful!!!!!! I seriously doubted this recipe due to its simplicity, but WOW was i wrong!!! I made my own Cajun seasoning (google it) and it formed this beautiful crust on the tuna. IMPORTANT--if this is your first time cooking tuna, you need to make sure your pan is very very very hot before you SEAR the steaks. Otherwise it will be very dry. The best part is that it only took 10 minutes from start to finish!!! Served on top of herbed rice with a little mango/black bean salsa to cut the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mount Laurel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
OH MY!! This was awesome. I was marinating tuna for dinner the next day and had one extra tuna steak... so tried this recipe. I honestly wasn't expecting too much, but BOY was I wrong. I can't wait to buy some more tuna steaks so I can prepare this for my husband. This is my favorite way to prepare... and EAT tuna now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DitzyDame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
PERFECTION! This recipe is spot on, the seasoning is perfect and it is so easy to prepare. I served it thinly sliced on a bed of spring mix lettuce with sliced tomatoes, green onions, candied walnuts and little Rothchild Farms Ginger Wasabi Sauce. Can't wait to make this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
A waste of good Ahi tuna. This was way to salty using the Cajun seasoning & when I'd printed the recipe (long time ago) I didn't notice anyone mentioning to cut back because of it. My husband even rinsed the tuna off by it didn't make that much difference. We like Cajun food, but this was not to our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
This was a very simple & tasty recipe. You do have to be careful not to over-cook the tuna. I served this on a bed of spanish rice & my 8-year old couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
My husband and I loved this recipe. It was our first time making something blackened and it was spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Really love this recipe! It is so simple and easy, it's one of my lazy dinners! Just make sure you get a fresh piece of tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
Good recipe. No WOW factor, but I will definately make again. Make sure the oil is searing before adding the Tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy4876

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Memphis, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dunlap, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
Fabulous! Tuna is only dry if one does not know how to cook it properly. Tuna should be seared on the outside and rare in the middle. Perfection Deny's and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Olive Oil Poached Tuna

Ahi tuna steaks are gently poached in olive oil until perfectly tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States