Blackened Tuna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Delicious! My wife and I loved it. I would only cook the tuna for 2 minutes on each side however. I followed other reviewers suggestions and decreased the amount of butter. I also spiked our Penzey Cajun Seasoning with extra cayenne pepper and garlic powder. We did not have an issue with too much salt, even though salt was the second ingredient on the list. Highly recommend this recipe. Also note, this will produce a lot of smoke. We had our exhaust fan running on high, but we were still coughing at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
I really liked this and so did my whole family! It was super quick and tasted great. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Instead of using tuna I used Mahi Mahi steaks and they were great. Do make sure you have sufficient ventilation first though because there will be smoke. The only reason I have this recipe a 4 instead of 5 is that using so much seasoning made it a little salty for my taste but no one else complained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Ree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
great recipe for tuna steaks! perfect amount of spice....even my picky 2 year old loved it!! will definately be adding this to my recipe box
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This was a quick easy recipe. I loved the cajun spice but agree with the other reviews that it was too salty. Will google a cajun spice mix next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
our tuna steaks were almost 2 inches thick, and 90 seconds per side was too long. definitely will only put them on 45 seconds or so per side next time. I used Tony Chachere's Cajun Seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
WAY too salty using the creole seasoning. Next time I will make my own seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Simply Excellent or should I say simple and excellent :-)! This was a wonderful dish that was quick and easy to make. I was a bit nervous about making it at first given all the reviews that talk about the the intense smoke and fumes that arise from searing the tuna, especially since I had no desire to open my windows up in the dead of winter to ventilate my kitchen. But I didn't have to worry, I turned my stove ventilation system on high and it sucked up all the intense smells and the tuna seared great! My family just loved this and we will definitely be making this again and again and again! Note: I did make one adjustment to the recipe I added lemon pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Really great tasting. I added lemon pepper as well for an extra kick. served with saffron rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaliforniaBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Wales, New York, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Olive Oil Poached Tuna

Ahi tuna steaks are gently poached in olive oil until perfectly tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States