Blackened Tuna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 28, 2005
This has to be one of the easiest and best meals that we have had yet! From start to finish...this entire meal only takes 30 minutes. I served an herbed rice and black beans with the tuna! DH is still saying mmm, mmm, mmm. I also only cooked the tuna (approx 1 inch steaks) 1 1/2 minutes on each side, as we like it rare. Thank you for an excellent recipe and of course, a forever KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
Simple and delicious. The tuna blackened beautifully. I ommitted the butter and adjusted the cooking time to suit my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Franklin Square, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
This recipe was very easy and very good. However, we don't like our tuna cooked for very long (3 to 4 mins on each side would completely ruin it for us) so we only cooked for 1 min per side which was perfectly done for our tastes, but we didn't get that blackened look. (Even though we preheated the pan with oil about 5 min in advance).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
This is a great recipe, and I will make it again. I used the Cajun Seasoning recipe available on this website, and it turned out great. The only warning I have is that it will make your kitchen very smokey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
This was my first attempt at making any kind of fish and it turned out beautifully. I was a little stingy on the cajun seasoning because I wasn't sure how the fish would absorb it. But it tasted great and I'll add a little more next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
This is super easy, super tasty and makes my kitchen smell like the Caribbean! I tend to undercook the tuna just a little in order to keep the flavour. And it takes about 10 minutes complete.. the 20 minute estimate is very generous. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
Overall, I liked this recipe and will try it again. (I would give it three and a half stars if we had that choice.) Our steaks turned our quite dry and that may be because they were fairly large or I should have cooked them more slowly. My wife loved it and would give it at least a four star rating. I do love tuna and thought about, for the next time, cubing the steaks into 1 inch squares and sautéing them in the mixture for a bit to make up for the extra dryness that comes with cutting up a piece of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perry, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
My whole family loves this recipe, even my very picky 9 yr. old. Like others, I sprinkle the steaks with Emeril's Bayou Blast seasoning (or a mix from a Paul Prudhomme recipe for greater heat). I always grill on a HOT cast iron skillet outside so as not to be overcome by smoke. I don't use olive oil, just butter. Quick, easy, healthy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
I am a working mom and this is fast, healthy and delicious. Skip the butter. Serve with a box of red or black beans and rice with a bag o salad. Voila. Dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACALK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
This was excellent but it did take a lot longer to cook then directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Olive Oil Poached Tuna

Ahi tuna steaks are gently poached in olive oil until perfectly tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States