Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
This recipe is AWESOME! I made the recipe as is and it was amazing. I was super nervous about cooking tuna for the first time and the four minutes per side was PERFECT. The only thing I did differently was (because of time restraints) I only marinated the fillets for about 30 min. I'm sure they'd be even better if I did the full three hours. Great way to impress your man! I don't particularly care for tuna so I did the same thing with a salmon fillet and loved it. Definitely one for the recipe books. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jessicay
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
YUM. Bold tastes. Tasting the salsa by itself, I thought the onion was overwhelming. With the tuna, though, it tasted great. The tuna seasoning was spicy and bold; it left one of the best after tastes I've ever had. The cooking time also felt perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Followed it perfectly and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
This was one of the best tuna I have had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This recipe was amazing, next time though i'm going to buy some pre-made mango salsa, it was very time consuming to chop and dice all that stuff but came out absolutely delicious, and the tuna, wow the flavors in this recipe are incredible! If you ever want to impress someone, make this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Tried this the other day. Excellent flavor. The spice in the tuna was equally paired with the salsa. Will make again. My dad who likes spice and hates as he calls it "raw meat"said that this was delicious and had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kindigdm

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Jenison, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I am not a fish eater, but it was suggested I try tuna steaks. This was my first time eating them and they were delish. Thank you for the recipe. I gave it 4 stars because I halved the heat in the recipe and it was still a little too spicy. The salsa is delish and paired nicely with the spiciness of the steaks. Thank you for giving me another option as I attempt to add more fish into my diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Make the salsa a few hours ahead of serving time, if possible, so that the salsa flavors meld. Next time i make this, the cooking time for the fish will be reduced to only a minute or so, with the skillet nice and hot, that will be plenty of time to sear, without cooking, the fish. I served with fried plantain and had a cool, delicious, satisfying meal. Perfect for warm summer evening, wine, and good company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARYJEANS11
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Bought some Ahi Tuna at my Farmers Market which was on sale and I found this recipe and when for it! I follow exactly, expect the mango salsa. Tuna was so tender and divine! The mango salsa was very good but was missing something, maybe salt and I add a peach since I just at 3/4 of the mango. I will do this again for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYJEANS11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa

See how to make grilled tuna with a fresh-tasting, sweet-and-tangy salsa.

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States