Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I just bought mango salsa, wasn't in the mood to make it but the recipe came together very well, I was impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Handy Andy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Made this for family. It turned out excellent. I also cut the cayenne by 1/2 but left everything else. Will use this recipe again. Served with cilantro lime rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Just finished (seriously-dishes still sitting on the table). CRAZY good!! New favorite-hands down. It is spicy-which is great for me since I always add extra spice. This was perfect! Only change-added some pineapple in w/mango. Thought is would be a good combo and it worked beautifully. Thanks so much for a great recipe. One of the best !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristymiss

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Delicious although a bit spicy for our taste. Next time I will cut back the cayenne some. This time we just chipped off the blackened spice rub. Did not do the blackened tuna but instead stole the carmelized onions from a different tuna recipe. Mixed 2.5 medium onions, half a head of cabbage, and 2 banana peppers and sauteed them for like 40 minutes in a bit of butter with a dash of salt and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
excellent mango salsa. Didn't use the jalapeno this time, but a little garlic instead of the green onion. Also some chopped nectarine. Very similar to a fancy restaurant near here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I did not make the salso, but the marinade, spices and cooking instructions were fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZELDA3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelleys Island, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This was delicious! The only change I made was 1/2 the cayenne and 1/2 the jalapeno. It was still spicy. My husband said it was one of the best meals I ever made and that's huge compliment from him. I'll be making this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This recipe was simple and amazingly delicious! I never made salsa before and it was the best I ever had. Recipe rivals higher level restaurants. Husband who is not a "fish lover" flipped. Cannot wait to make it again. Great job AcadiaBoi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blskny

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I'm not sure if we messed up in some way, but my boyfriend and I really didn't like the flavor. Way too much cayenne flavor. I love spicy food, but I couldn't even finish my steak. Perhaps we didn't blacken it enough... though, our tuna seemed overdone. Not sure where we went wrong. Either way, did not care for the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I'm giving this 5 stars even though I reduced the spice of the cayenne to 1 teaspoon- which was spicy enough and we like it spicy. This is so good restaurant quality for sure. I loved the sweetness of the mango with the savory tuna. The cooking time was perfect for a rare center. The only thing I'll do different next time is not cook it in my non stick skillet. I didn't get a good blackened sear. Thanks for sharing. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa

See how to make grilled tuna with a fresh-tasting, sweet-and-tangy salsa.

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States