Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
This is on the spicy side. It is excellent. We had a dinner party half of the group did not like spicy so when I made the rub I used only 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper and I had to double up on the other dry rub ingredients. I also made to separate Mango Salsa one with jalapeño the other without. The result the non spicy people enjoyed except for one. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Great recipe! I made this for a family picnic, and it was a huge hit! We made them on the grill, and they turned out great. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Schnecksville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
WOW! I've been wanting to make Ahi tuna and came across this recipe. I can't believe how good this was! My husband said it was better than some of the ahi tuna we've had in restaurants! I did make just a couple of changes: 1-I added avocado to the mango salsa. Just thought it would taste good. It did! 2-After marinating the tuna, I only seasoned it with onion powder, garlic powder, paprika, salt and pepper. 3-I coated the tuna steaks with black and white sesame seeds. 4-I like my tuna very rare, so I only cooked each side until it was opaque in color. But when you sliced the fish, the bright red color showed thru. This is a fantastic recipe. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAN369

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I made this recipe with only 2 changes. I omitted the bell pepper in the salsa and broiled the fish instead of pan frying. This was a great meal and will be a regular in my house. I served it with sliced kiwi, apricots and green and wax beans. Beautiful looking plate with all the flavor I was looking for. It is VERY spicy but thats what we like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This was very good with just the right amount of spice. I served it with a Cherry Tomato and Corn Salad. Perfect for a warm day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I normally don't love tuna, but this recipe was really good! I did change things a bit since I was short on time and missing a few of the ingredients. Since I didn't have time to marinade the tuna for 3 hrs, I just mixed olive oil, paprika, cayenne, garlic salt, sesame seeds, 1/2 lime sqeezed, and poltry seasoning (basil, rosemary, sage, majoram,thyme, and oregano). Mixed it all up and rubbed it into the tuna then threw it on the grill to cook. For the salsa, I used canned mangos and crushed pineapple, diced red peppers, diced jalepenos and lime juice. Overall it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
This was delicious! I didn't have time to make the mango salsa, so we just bought some in a jar and it turned out perfect. I can't wait to try it with my own salsa when I make this again, though. The mix of spices for the tuna was great, I used a little less red pepper than the recipe called for and they still turned out really hot. Overall, a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joshua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
This was fantastic. The only changes I made was no bell pepper in the salsa, personal preference, and using shark steaks instead of tuna because thats what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
I made this dish exactly as the recipe suggested and it was wonderful. It was quite spicy, but we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
My wife usually does not like spicy dishes, but she was all about this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa

See how to make grilled tuna with a fresh-tasting, sweet-and-tangy salsa.

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States