Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
A few tips for those of you struggling with the recipe: 1. While the directions were written for Tuna, it does work well with other fish but the cook time must be adjusted accordingly for the type of fish you are using and the thickness. For salmon I would recommend ditching the garlic -lime marinade, it really is specific to tuna or a similar fish. 2. For those struggling with the heat there are three things: - The recipe is designed to be eaten bite for bite with the mango salsa recipe included, if you serve it without it you'll likely need to adjust the heat level by dropping the cayenne. - For those who just aren't into the heat, you can simply reduce the amount of cayenne, by half is about appropriate. - A nice alternative I've found to the mango salsa is sour cream (about 2tbsp per serving) mixed with a bit of sugar (about 1tsp per 2tbsp of sour cream). This can be served in a ramekin or drizzled over the fish, whatever your heart desires! Hope this allays some of the issues people have had! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcadiaBoi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
WOW! I've been wanting to make Ahi tuna and came across this recipe. I can't believe how good this was! My husband said it was better than some of the ahi tuna we've had in restaurants! I did make just a couple of changes: 1-I added avocado to the mango salsa. Just thought it would taste good. It did! 2-After marinating the tuna, I only seasoned it with onion powder, garlic powder, paprika, salt and pepper. 3-I coated the tuna steaks with black and white sesame seeds. 4-I like my tuna very rare, so I only cooked each side until it was opaque in color. But when you sliced the fish, the bright red color showed thru. This is a fantastic recipe. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAN369

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
This is on the spicy side. It is excellent. We had a dinner party half of the group did not like spicy so when I made the rub I used only 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper and I had to double up on the other dry rub ingredients. I also made to separate Mango Salsa one with jalapeño the other without. The result the non spicy people enjoyed except for one. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I have to preface my review by revealing that I didn't do this with tuna. Tuna is best served rare to medium-rare and I don't/can't do "raw," plain and simple. So I used tilapia, which is perfect for blackening because the filets are so thin. (Truth be told, however, I'm not crazy about tilapia either - it tastes muddy to me, like a bottom feeder) Mango salsa is relatively new to me - I have never liked sweet mixed with savory. But I'm liking it lately, and this salsa, this dish, was simply first rate. I used my own blackening seasoning, one that is tried and true for me, important since blackening/Cajun seasonings can vary so much. I made no changes to the salsa and it was perfect - as good as I've had at any fine seafood restaurant in SW Florida. I am finding, however, that the jalapenos from my garden have a LOT more heat in them than those I buy at the grocery store so beware if you use homegrown! I served this with "Cilantro-Lime Rice," also from this site, and they belonged together. This was a beautiful and delicious dish, nice for the two of us, but certainly company worthy as well. Nicely done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Holy Moly. This is awesome!! I didn`t have all the ingrediants, but still made it work. I had no limes, subbed for Nakeds Mango drink. It worked out awesome! Had no mangoes, subbed those for mandarin oranges and strawberries in the salad. It would work well with pineapple and coconut shreds as well. Delish. I made the marinade and spice mix as directed (1/2 salt). I also halved the oil to make it thick like a blackened fish. I was making this for two steaks ;P Hubby is from India and loves spice. For the kids and I, I used the sour cream idea. But, made it like a raita with tomatoes and onions plus the sugar. It took away the heat. On the side I served a salad with a mango vinegrette, madarin oranges and feta cheese. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUPPUSAMY
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Tasty, but WAY too spicy. I love, love, love spicy but I've made this 2x...the 2nd time I cut the paprika and pepper in 1/2...just insanely too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
My family loves fresh tuna but we don't get it very often. This was a very tasty way to prepare fresh tuna. The salsa was zippy and went well with the tuna. The whole family really enjoyed this. Make sure to use a flipper to flip your fish in the pan rather than tongs so it doesn't fall apart. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
My fiance requested that I make tuna steaks, and I was a little nervous about it because the steaks were so thick. It came out great, though! I mixed the marinade together, placed the tuna steaks in a storage container, poured the marinade over the tuna steaks, and placed it in the refrigerator for less than an hour. The salsa was easy to put together. When it came time to blacken the tuna steaks, I soaked them in the spice mixture and then cooked them on each side for about six minutes on each side. There was still a nice pink in the middle. This recipe is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Excellent! Next time I would reduce the amount of all the spices as I had a lot left over and they are expensive to buy. I will also reduce the amount of onion in the salsa and use 1/3 of an onion and 1/2 of the jalapeno. I didn't have a mango so I used some peach mango salsa and it was fantastic that way. Thanks for a great fish recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I love this recipe! After it went over so well the first time, I started using this blackening spice mixture on everything from shrimp, to chicken, to swordfish steaks. I mixed up all the spices and keep in my cabinet so it is handy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa

See how to make grilled tuna with a fresh-tasting, sweet-and-tangy salsa.

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States