Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Tasty, but WAY too spicy. I love, love, love spicy but I've made this 2x...the 2nd time I cut the paprika and pepper in 1/2...just insanely too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
As IF this recipe needs another 5 star review!!! LOL! This is a fabulous recipe. The tuna marinade is what sets this apart from other fish/salsa style dishes. Most recipes never recommend a marinade for fish- a rub, yes but not a marinade. This made the difference for me and I marinated for 3 hours. For other reviewers who complained about too much of something-- use less of it?. Also, OBVIOUSLY cook the tuna the way YOU like it cooked. The chef who made mine tonight (ME) used way too much jalapeno. But heck that is my fault. This recipe ROCKS! My hubby LOVED the blackened, this WILL be my new seasoning for blackened always. I served this with a citrus scented quinoa. YUM! Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Very easy and very good, even my wife who hates fish said she enjoyed this, "it didn't taste fishy." I used three frozen 6 oz. Mahi Mahi steaks and instead of making the mango salsa I used a jar of peach salsa. I halved the cayenne and could only barely taste it so those who want the fish to have a little kick may want to go 3/4 or the full tablespoon of cayenne. I also have at least my rub left over. Cooking time guidance was right on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
My friend and I just got back from San Diego with our fresh catch of Yellow Fin Tuna. I was eager to try a new recipe. I made this tonight for my wife and I. It was unbelievable. If you want your wife to stop talking this is not the recipe to use. Five Stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kramer3211

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aloha, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Man, this was good. VERY spicy, but good. Fancy restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I love this recipe! After it went over so well the first time, I started using this blackening spice mixture on everything from shrimp, to chicken, to swordfish steaks. I mixed up all the spices and keep in my cabinet so it is handy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I have to preface my review by revealing that I didn't do this with tuna. Tuna is best served rare to medium-rare and I don't/can't do "raw," plain and simple. So I used tilapia, which is perfect for blackening because the filets are so thin. (Truth be told, however, I'm not crazy about tilapia either - it tastes muddy to me, like a bottom feeder) Mango salsa is relatively new to me - I have never liked sweet mixed with savory. But I'm liking it lately, and this salsa, this dish, was simply first rate. I used my own blackening seasoning, one that is tried and true for me, important since blackening/Cajun seasonings can vary so much. I made no changes to the salsa and it was perfect - as good as I've had at any fine seafood restaurant in SW Florida. I am finding, however, that the jalapenos from my garden have a LOT more heat in them than those I buy at the grocery store so beware if you use homegrown! I served this with "Cilantro-Lime Rice," also from this site, and they belonged together. This was a beautiful and delicious dish, nice for the two of us, but certainly company worthy as well. Nicely done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I made this recipe for a group of 5 friends. It turned out INCREDIBLE!!! You really can't go wrong with this recipe. It is the perfect balance of flavors, spicy and sweet. The tuna can be cooked very rare or well done (cook at hotter temp and shorter time for very rare and blackened/crisp outside!). Delicious, I plan to share this recipe with many friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Huge hit. Omitted the jalepeno pepper as I can't stand hot things. My 4yr old kept asking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Used the recipe for Chilean Sea Bass....worked wonderfully! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fort Gordon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa

See how to make grilled tuna with a fresh-tasting, sweet-and-tangy salsa.

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States