Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I made this last night for my boyfriend and I's anniversary dinner and we both loved it. Here are a few adjustments that I did: 1. I used both a tuna steak and a tuna medallion. They were both probably about an inch thick so they had to cook much longer than the suggested time in the recipe. 2. I used more lime juice and less garlic and olive oil in the marinade. 3. Spices are expensive and you often only use them once or twice so instead of going out and buying the ones I didn't have I just made due with what was in my cabinent (I only used salt, pepper, paprika, garlic powder, and thyme)...the rub was still AMAZING. 4. Also, to make the mango salsa requires pricey produce and believe it or not, most grocery stores will carry pre-made mango salsa so I bought that instead! 5. I recommend rice as a side dish. It goes really well the grill taste of the tuna as well as the sweetness of the salsa. Thank you so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This recipe is amazing! The tuna comes out, depending on thickness, with a red center and a crisp outside. Yum! The mango salsa is delicious. I used only salt and pepper on one of the tuna steaks for my 6 year old daughter and she devoured it! I think it had more to do with the salsa, honestly, she loved the fruit ( I added a small amount of pineapple and strawberry, mmmm...) This recipe will be used again and again in our house. THanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I halved the recipe since there was 2 of us. While making the salsa I got concerned with the amount of onion and jalapeno in the mix (it smelled very onion-y) so I cut the amounts back a little bit and it was still quite tasty. The steaks were easy to do. We liked the heat it had. Was very pleased at how this turned out and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
What a great blackened tuna recipe. We marinated the tuna. Some of our diners do not like hot spices and so we cooked one steak with marinade only. We rubbed the rest with the spicy oil based paste. We charcoal grilled/smoked the tuna on a cedar plank instead of searing in a pan. The tuna without the rub was also very good, so try the marinade and salsa without the Cajun rub if you do not like spicy foods. We will certainly use this simple marinade for other seafood, like salmon. Unfortunately we did not have the makings for the mango salsa (too bad). Will make the salsa the next time without the spicy rub just to try another variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
WOW! This was amazing! It looked and tasted like a restaurant meal. The whole family loved it. It was a beautiful day out so we grilled the tuna (6 minutes on each side on med-high).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This was an excellent dish. The mango salsa was a perfect complement to the tuna. My husband and I love hot/spicy food but the heat was a little intense for us in this recipe. Next time I will cut down on the cayenne a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This tuna steak recipe is absolutely amazing, the best fish recipe I have ever tried!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Excellent dish. I used 'Hot Hungarian Paprika' instead of cayenne pepper, and it was plenty hot. The only other deviations from the recipe I made was using a large shallot instead of a spanish onion in the salsa (only because I didn't have an onion on hand and needed to use up my shallot), and I added a splash of fresh-sqeezed grapefruit juice and lime zest to the salsa because my lime didn't have much juice. Great and fairly simple dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This was ok. Not my favorite fish recipe. I follow the recipe exactly. Guess I was hoping for more of a blackened taste. Sorry didn't happen for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri's Best Recipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philadelphia, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Spring Hope, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Fantastic! My husband LOVED this (and he hardly ever loves anything I cook). He thought it was better than eating at a restaurant. I omitted all of the onions from the salsa b/c I'm not an onion fan, and I added 1/2 an avocado. I will make this next time we have guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa

See how to make grilled tuna with a fresh-tasting, sweet-and-tangy salsa.

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States