Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
What a great blackened tuna recipe. We marinated the tuna. Some of our diners do not like hot spices and so we cooked one steak with marinade only. We rubbed the rest with the spicy oil based paste. We charcoal grilled/smoked the tuna on a cedar plank instead of searing in a pan. The tuna without the rub was also very good, so try the marinade and salsa without the Cajun rub if you do not like spicy foods. We will certainly use this simple marinade for other seafood, like salmon. Unfortunately we did not have the makings for the mango salsa (too bad). Will make the salsa the next time without the spicy rub just to try another variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
WOW! This was amazing! It looked and tasted like a restaurant meal. The whole family loved it. It was a beautiful day out so we grilled the tuna (6 minutes on each side on med-high).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This was an excellent dish. The mango salsa was a perfect complement to the tuna. My husband and I love hot/spicy food but the heat was a little intense for us in this recipe. Next time I will cut down on the cayenne a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This tuna steak recipe is absolutely amazing, the best fish recipe I have ever tried!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Excellent dish. I used 'Hot Hungarian Paprika' instead of cayenne pepper, and it was plenty hot. The only other deviations from the recipe I made was using a large shallot instead of a spanish onion in the salsa (only because I didn't have an onion on hand and needed to use up my shallot), and I added a splash of fresh-sqeezed grapefruit juice and lime zest to the salsa because my lime didn't have much juice. Great and fairly simple dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This was ok. Not my favorite fish recipe. I follow the recipe exactly. Guess I was hoping for more of a blackened taste. Sorry didn't happen for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri's Best Recipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philadelphia, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Spring Hope, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Fantastic! My husband LOVED this (and he hardly ever loves anything I cook). He thought it was better than eating at a restaurant. I omitted all of the onions from the salsa b/c I'm not an onion fan, and I added 1/2 an avocado. I will make this next time we have guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Simply DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmonaco

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Fantastic recipe! Serve this at a dinner party to impress your friends. A bit of a flavor blast though, so I would recommend serving something a little more "tame" with this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Delicious! Perfect amount of spice. I cut the salt in half and was more than salty enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa

See how to make grilled tuna with a fresh-tasting, sweet-and-tangy salsa.

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States