Blackened Tilapia with Secret Hobo Spices Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Delicious and flavorful! I modified the recipe as I did not have all the ingredients and read other peoples reviews. I only added 1 1/2 tbps Paprika and a 1/2 tbsp of salt. I did not have and thus did not use: cayenne pepper, white pepper and celery seeds. I added 1 tsp of garlic powder. I substituted the bread for white rice and added butter, lemon juice, corn, red bell pepper, and red pepper. The last modification was that I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil (not healthy). It was DELICIOUS! I try a lot of recipes and am usually disappointed, but this was really flavorful and I'll DEFINITELY make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saryn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This is my 'go to' recipe for tilapia. My family loves it. We don't add the bread but the spice mixture plus some lime/lemon is so tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I really enjoyed this recipe but my fiance did not. It was just too spicy for her. Next time I will cut down on all of the hot spices, perhaps 2 TBLS Paprika, 1/2 TSP Cayenne, black, and white pepper. I think this will tone it down and not sacrifice flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roadrunner1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I was really looking forward to delicious blackened tilapia tonight but this did not fit the bill. There is WAY too much paprika in this recipe...it overpowered everything. A generous squeeze of fresh lemon juice made it more palatable but I will never use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This is SO good. The seasoning mix yielded way more than I needed so I put it in my empty paprika container (I used the rest of my paprika on this recipe...it calls for a lot and is so worth it). The fish can be cooked on the stove, but I chose to put it in the oven so I cook make a bunch at once. It turned out fine. Also, I had purchased a large amount of tilapia and seasoned it with the hobo seasoning and BEFORE I cooked it, I put a bunch of the seasoned fillets in the freezer so I would have them for another date. When I cooked the frozen ones (defrosted) a month later, they tasted fresh and perfect. This seasoning is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by car

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morton Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Skokie, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Will never have tilapia any other way from now on. I usually find fish pretty boring but the seasonings in this recipe take fish to a whole other level. Absolutely amazing! A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
This is tasty, even my kids like it. We reduce the cayenne, but otherwise, perfect as is. Like others, we don't get any "pan juices" so we omit the bread. It's nummy anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Tried it with small adjustments, loved it. Agreed with others, there are no remaining juices. Here are the adjustments I made: 1.5 tablespoons paprika; 0.5 teaspoons cayenne pepper; served over quinoa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Seriously delicious. I didn't use any salt, white pepper, or thyme, and it was still great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
we loved it…..i think i'll try cooking it in the iron skillet next time…..also, i'll try cutting back on the salt and cayenne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Seared Tilapia

Discover the delicious and easy way to prepare tilapia.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States