Blackened Tilapia with Secret Hobo Spices Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
This is really good except there was way too much salt for us. Will definitely cut that way back next time. Like others I didn't have any juice left over so the bread was dry. Next time I'll serve over rice as others did. We enjoyed it except had to scrap some seasons off to get rid of the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canal Winchester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Instead of onion powder, I chopped up actual onions and some green bell pepper and put it in the skillet. It added more substance and the bell pepper made it a little less spicy! This was the first time I made my own non-fried fish, and this made it easier. (I also used MUCH less salt than it called for)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
We love this recipe! It is the only way that I can get my husband and daughter to eat fish, so I'm thankful that it is easy as well! The only modification that I make is to forgo the bread. Sometimes we also grill the fish to avoid the fish smell in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Great Tilapia recipe. Could also use this recipe to make fish Tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew George

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anderson, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
WOW. Hot! So, I'm new to cooking, and for other newbs, make sure you don't coat the fish too thickly with the spices - it's a REALLY cajun spice, and ma mouth is burnin'! Lightly coat. Like the picture. So that some of the fish meat is actually still visible. That's more than enough seasoning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Dish was delicious!! Kinda confused about the pan juices because all I had was oil left over and not much of it. I served it over brown rice I cooked in chicken stock and added sauteed onion and mushrooms to the rice. Added a stuffed Zucchini and we all were stuffed!! Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Delicious and flavorful! I modified the recipe as I did not have all the ingredients and read other peoples reviews. I only added 1 1/2 tbps Paprika and a 1/2 tbsp of salt. I did not have and thus did not use: cayenne pepper, white pepper and celery seeds. I added 1 tsp of garlic powder. I substituted the bread for white rice and added butter, lemon juice, corn, red bell pepper, and red pepper. The last modification was that I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil (not healthy). It was DELICIOUS! I try a lot of recipes and am usually disappointed, but this was really flavorful and I'll DEFINITELY make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saryn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This is my 'go to' recipe for tilapia. My family loves it. We don't add the bread but the spice mixture plus some lime/lemon is so tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I really enjoyed this recipe but my fiance did not. It was just too spicy for her. Next time I will cut down on all of the hot spices, perhaps 2 TBLS Paprika, 1/2 TSP Cayenne, black, and white pepper. I think this will tone it down and not sacrifice flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roadrunner1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I was really looking forward to delicious blackened tilapia tonight but this did not fit the bill. There is WAY too much paprika in this recipe...it overpowered everything. A generous squeeze of fresh lemon juice made it more palatable but I will never use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Seared Tilapia

Discover the delicious and easy way to prepare tilapia.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States