Blackened Shrimp Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by MARYMAYBE
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I added artichokes to this dish only because we love them. This is a fabulous and easy dish to make. I did increase the sauce by half. I might go with low sodium broth next time because the cajun seasoning I used has so much salt already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYMAYBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
My boyfriend said, "this rocks!" and he is known to be somewhat picky. I did have to add a little more cornstarch then called for. My cajun seasoning was pretty salty so I substituted some of the tablespoon of that with blackened cajun seasoning. The combo of spices was just right. The recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
DELISH! My whole family loved it. The only changes I made are as follows: I omitted the capers (not a fan) and used finely chopped onion instead of shallots. I also diced up two chicken breasts and coated them in cajun seasoning and flour and pre-cooked them and then added them in at the end with everything else. It was YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
I love this recipe for one simple reason...i didn't follow it exactly to the specs and it came out wonderful...didnt have cajun used old bay..ran out of sour cream added yogurt and kept cornstarching it to my desired consistency. I used big big tiger shrimp, and didnt let them pink all the way on their own as this would cause them to become like little chewy pieces of tires, I let them pink on the outside and then cook through at the end with everything else. Thanks for this recipe..it's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahandtheCity

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Made this for my stepfamily, they loved it! Since they're currently on weight watchers, a single serving (1 cup pasta, 1 cup sauce) came to about 6 points. Everyone went back for seconds. I also used whole wheat angel hair pasta, fat free sour cream and reduced sodium chicken broth. Adding veggies like spinach added good color and taste...this is a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
We thought the recipe was kind of bland. I followed it exactly. I might recommend using wine and a cajun seasoning that has a kick. I used Mccormick cajun seasoning.... really not a fan of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Awesome recipe! The only thing I changed was I used onions instead of shallots. I will make this many more times and share it with my friends. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
We actually made this with chicken instead of shrimp because the shrimp did not seem fresh at the store. It was absolutely delicious with the chicken. The sauce is great. I actually did not add any salt because of the capers, and it did not require anymore seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
We really liked this dish. I used white wine instead of chicken broth and it turned out nice. Next time, I'll use angel hair instead of fetucinni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
We really enjoyed this recipe. I will defnitely make again but probably serve over rice. Make sure you serve with some kind of bread to get all the sauce up with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSAN201

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States