Blackened Shrimp Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
This was fantastic!! I took the advice of others and substituted 2/3 cups of chicken broth with white wine. The sauce was delicious. Everyone like it so much that kept coming back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Made this tonight for my husband and I. Tweaked it as suggested by some reviewers such as added 1/2 chicken stock and 1/2 white wine. I also made my own blackened spice which is simple. Loved it! Will definitely make it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pony, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I didn't have sour cream so used plain unflavored Greek yogurt and it was tangy-fantastic (and lower calorie to boot). If you want a change from Cajun Seasoning try Seafood Seasoning such as Old Bay Seasoning or Penzey's Chesapeake Bay Seasoning. It tastes great! For people who have trouble with lumpiness, I suggest whisking the sauce with a whisk during preparation. It took out my lumps in the yogurt mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
This was okay, but I wasn't able to master the stroganoff technique thing . . .the sour cream sauce clumped up and didn't thicken (is it supposed to? I have no idea), so perhaps it needs tempering. Hubs liked it okay, and I just thought it was so so. To be fair, I did accidentally over garlic it--used whole garlic cloves instead of shallots and I was a bit too liberal with the amount. Other than that, I left out the roasted red peppers (don't have them at the moment) and the capers (hubs hates them, so I humored him). We still ate it, and I don't think we'll ignore the leftovers, but we'll try something different next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Very good but not super
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This is one of my favorite go-to recipes. I usually cook the shrimp in step four instead of in step three. I also add more capers since I love them. In any case, this dish is awesome and you should try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Made this recipe as written other than subbing white wine for the 2/3 cup broth and adding cloves of garlic in with the saute. Really enjoyed it, has a wonderful rich flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Make sure you use the red peppers, they add so much! I added scallops and doubled the cajun seasoning and olive oil. I also used a good quality fetuccini from costco, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I tried this again last night, several years after making it the first time, thinking maybe my lack of cooking skills before had hindered the outcome. I was wrong, and this recipe is wrong. It's not bad, it's just that shrimp and stroganoff don't mix well - even my 12-year-old daughter picked that up 1st bite. There are FAR better shrimp pasta combos out there. Sorry, but this is just not right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MttaLeslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marietta, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Love2Cook
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Fantastic! Except for adding a 1/4 cup of white wine while sautéing the mushrooms and serving over medium bow-tie pasta, I followed the recipe exactly. I loved it and will be adding this to my favorites. Thanks, LINJO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States