Blackened Shrimp Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
This is one of my favorites from Better Homes and Gardens 75 Years All Time Favorites Cookbook. You must use wine instead for the 2/3c broth for the best flavor. I also use Creole Seas. Blend from this site mixed 50/ 50 with a commercial blend. This gives you lots of flavor with less salt.2T of this mix, 2 cloves garlic in place of the shallot, 6 cups mushrooms and because the extra mushrooms make it wet only 1/2c of broth.The capers are a must! This is worth the extra work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
This dish was absolutely awesome!!!I did use white wine, because I love to cook with it. I sub. the first measurement of ckn broth with wine. The capers make the dish very elegant and instead of using the jarred pepper I roasted/charred a fresh one instead. One more thing, fresh spinach wilted in makes the dish sing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2002
great recipe! had a lot of fun dirtying my dishes. I added some parmesan chease (ramano) during bubbling. gave it a sharp flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
My whole family loves this recipe, it's quick and delicious! We make it weekly! The only changes I make are to use 1/2 white wine and 1/2 chicken broth instead of all chicken broth, and to use cayenne pepper, red pepper flakes, garlic and black pepper instead of the Cajun seasoning. I also use no-fat or low-fat sour cream and leave out the capers. Thanks Linda for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
It seems I've been looking for years for that perfect shrimp pasta I could make at home. I found it in this dish. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
Yum!! Like some previous reviewers, I left out the peppers and capers because I didn't have them on hand. I also used 1lb pre-cooked shrimp, letting them sit in the cajun seasoning (more than 1T) 1+ days before making the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2003
This recipe was amazing!!! I used portabella mushrooms which really added to the flavor. I also used 1/2 wine and 1/2 chicken soup broth. I also left out the capers It was a real hit with my guests and I have made it a few times now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I tried this again last night, several years after making it the first time, thinking maybe my lack of cooking skills before had hindered the outcome. I was wrong, and this recipe is wrong. It's not bad, it's just that shrimp and stroganoff don't mix well - even my 12-year-old daughter picked that up 1st bite. There are FAR better shrimp pasta combos out there. Sorry, but this is just not right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MttaLeslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marietta, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
WE liked it very much, both wished there was more of it, I took other peoples advice and used 2/3 c of white wine, I also used onions and instead of the roasted red peppers I added some red peppers with the mushrooms and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Morin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
Very good and easy to make. I had all these ingredients on hand in my pantry. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlwaysCookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States