Blackened Shrimp Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Very rich and very good. I omitted the capers and added black pepper instead and also squeezed just a tiny bit of lemon juice on top. This was a wonderful lenten meal. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I wanted something different for dinner, but didn't have time to run to the store to get what I was missing, so I made do with what I had. I had frozen, cooked shrimp, which I thawed and still cooked for the 3 minutes as directed. I only had canned mushrooms, but I drained them, and I used minced garlic since I had no shallots as was recommended in another review. No bell peppers either, so I just omitted them. Oh, and I used elbow maceroni, as it was the pasta I had in the pantry! Overall, and since I butchered it, LOL, it went over well and my husband took seconds! Would love to try it as the recipe calls for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
AMAZING! Made recipe as is for a dinner party and everyone loved it! Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
My husband licked the plate and asked me to add this to our WEEKLY meals! This was so yummy! Love capers and shrimp and with the tiny adjustment with wine, AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Deland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I omitted the capers as we hate them, and I used regular onions instead of shallots as that's what I had on hand. I've only eaten jarred roasted peppers a couple of times previously, and I have to say I'm not as fan of the squishy texture - next time I will roast my own. I recommend adding the Cajun seasoning a little at a time until it's as spicy as you like - 1T might be way too much for some people. Nice recipe though. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This was a big hit in our house. Not sure why some reviewers thought this was bland. It's anything but! I used minced garlic instead of shallots and light sour cream in an attempt to bring down the fat content. I included the capers, but had to do without the roasted red peppers as I didn't have any. Still, this was very flavorful; presentation gets 5 stars as well. I used a combination of vegetarian chicken broth and white wine - next time, I'll be on the look out for reduced sodium broth and maybe reduce the amount of Cajun seasoning as the sodium content is a bit high for my diet/liking. Thanks a bunch for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This was a hit with my family, including my picky 2-yr-old daughter. I used regular onions rather than shallots, and didn't have roasted red peppers. I also used Creole seasoning instead of cajun. I love that this is a lower-fat version of similar dishes - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Yummy very good, I used peas instead of red pepper more color and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ramsey, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
My first taste was ok then it started to taste like mushroom soup on pasta..i still don't really know if i like it or not as i hate anything made with canned soup. My husband seemed to like it so that's why i gave it a 3 and i followed the recipie to a T...so maybe with some personal changes..i don't know..sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Really good and tasty....alot litter than using heavy cream like I usually do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States