Blackened Shrimp Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
My husband licked the plate and asked me to add this to our WEEKLY meals! This was so yummy! Love capers and shrimp and with the tiny adjustment with wine, AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Deland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I omitted the capers as we hate them, and I used regular onions instead of shallots as that's what I had on hand. I've only eaten jarred roasted peppers a couple of times previously, and I have to say I'm not as fan of the squishy texture - next time I will roast my own. I recommend adding the Cajun seasoning a little at a time until it's as spicy as you like - 1T might be way too much for some people. Nice recipe though. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This was a big hit in our house. Not sure why some reviewers thought this was bland. It's anything but! I used minced garlic instead of shallots and light sour cream in an attempt to bring down the fat content. I included the capers, but had to do without the roasted red peppers as I didn't have any. Still, this was very flavorful; presentation gets 5 stars as well. I used a combination of vegetarian chicken broth and white wine - next time, I'll be on the look out for reduced sodium broth and maybe reduce the amount of Cajun seasoning as the sodium content is a bit high for my diet/liking. Thanks a bunch for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This was a hit with my family, including my picky 2-yr-old daughter. I used regular onions rather than shallots, and didn't have roasted red peppers. I also used Creole seasoning instead of cajun. I love that this is a lower-fat version of similar dishes - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Yummy very good, I used peas instead of red pepper more color and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ramsey, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
My first taste was ok then it started to taste like mushroom soup on pasta..i still don't really know if i like it or not as i hate anything made with canned soup. My husband seemed to like it so that's why i gave it a 3 and i followed the recipie to a T...so maybe with some personal changes..i don't know..sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Really good and tasty....alot litter than using heavy cream like I usually do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
My husband who doesn't care for any pasta loved this. Didn't have any roasted pepper so I just used red, orange and yellow bell peppers and placed them in the pan with the mushrooms and onions. This was an excellent dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This is a great and fairly simple dish. I substituted one cup of white wine for the first 2/3 cup chicken broth, which added a nice and sophisticated touch and aroma. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
We really enjoyed this dish! Substituted sweet onion for shallots and skipped the mushrooms, but other than that, followed it exactly. A nice change of pace for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States