Blackened Shrimp Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
edible, but it was very salty, and a little bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This recipe was very easy, and very tasty! Instead of Cajun seasoning I used Old Bay, 1.5 tsp, and it was perfect! I also substituted one small onion for the shallots. What a great blend of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPATISTA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Excellent recipe! I have made it twice now - the first time I stuck to the recipe, and the 2nd time the main change I made was to add fresh garlic. I minced a couple of cloves into the shrimp & olive oil first step and I also added a couple cloves to the shallots & mushrooms as they cooked. In my opinion this gave it a more complex flavor that was just a little bit lacking the first time I made it. But I am a huge fresh garlic fan, although I tried not to go overboard with it so as not to overpower the other flavors. It was really excellent & very rich tasting despite using LITE sour cream. As delicious as similar recipes that use heavy cream - just not necessary. Thanks for a great recipe - will be making this one quite often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaphneB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Well, I'm on the fence on this one. Hubby liked this more than I did, I think. It was good, but I didn't think it was great. I think 6 oz. of pasta for four people is a bit skimpy, unless, of course, you're watching those carbs. The sauce was thinner than I would have liked and the recipe didn't indicate whether or not to drain the red peppers. I did drain mine on paper towels. I can't imagine how thin the sauce would have been had I not drained them. I also thought this recipe was what I call "fussy" - into the pan, out of the pan, into the pan, out of the pan - a lot of juggling going on. All and all a good recipe, just didn't wow me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Very rich and very good. I omitted the capers and added black pepper instead and also squeezed just a tiny bit of lemon juice on top. This was a wonderful lenten meal. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I wanted something different for dinner, but didn't have time to run to the store to get what I was missing, so I made do with what I had. I had frozen, cooked shrimp, which I thawed and still cooked for the 3 minutes as directed. I only had canned mushrooms, but I drained them, and I used minced garlic since I had no shallots as was recommended in another review. No bell peppers either, so I just omitted them. Oh, and I used elbow maceroni, as it was the pasta I had in the pantry! Overall, and since I butchered it, LOL, it went over well and my husband took seconds! Would love to try it as the recipe calls for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
AMAZING! Made recipe as is for a dinner party and everyone loved it! Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
My husband licked the plate and asked me to add this to our WEEKLY meals! This was so yummy! Love capers and shrimp and with the tiny adjustment with wine, AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Deland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I omitted the capers as we hate them, and I used regular onions instead of shallots as that's what I had on hand. I've only eaten jarred roasted peppers a couple of times previously, and I have to say I'm not as fan of the squishy texture - next time I will roast my own. I recommend adding the Cajun seasoning a little at a time until it's as spicy as you like - 1T might be way too much for some people. Nice recipe though. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This was a big hit in our house. Not sure why some reviewers thought this was bland. It's anything but! I used minced garlic instead of shallots and light sour cream in an attempt to bring down the fat content. I included the capers, but had to do without the roasted red peppers as I didn't have any. Still, this was very flavorful; presentation gets 5 stars as well. I used a combination of vegetarian chicken broth and white wine - next time, I'll be on the look out for reduced sodium broth and maybe reduce the amount of Cajun seasoning as the sodium content is a bit high for my diet/liking. Thanks a bunch for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States