Blackened Shrimp Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This is like a dish I order at French Quarter Bistro. Now I can make it at home with fresh gulf shrimp. For the Cajun seasoning I used Zatarain's Blackened Seasoning and it was to hot. The second time I made it I was able to find Cajun seasoning. Zatarain's was better. Next time I will use a reduced portion of Zatarain's and will also reduce the amount of roasted red bell peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
My sister-in-law introduced me to this recipe. It is beyond good; exceptional. She made a couple minor changes, but nothing drastic. I can imagine all kinds of variations. Also, there were leftovers and I fried a couple of eggs in the morning and put them on top of a serving ... For something a little different, it made a great breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Used 2 cups of mushrooms, onions and 2/3 cup of white wine instead of shallots and 2/3 cup of chicken broth. No peppers. Try original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lina Hershberger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I have made this recipe twice now and think it is excellent. As the mushrooms are cooking I also add a bag of spinach for it to wilt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
i found this recipe awkward. Nothing quite held the dish together. Kinda tangy, kinda savory, kinda heavy and light at the same time. This dish was lost without a direction. (in my opinion)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juicy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
this was excellent. did not use the extra oil with the shrimp marinade. also used light sour cream, no shallots, but used garlic. the sauce wasn't quite thickening up as i wanted so i used a tad bit more of cornstarch dissolved in chicken broth. thanks for the post linjo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
edible, but it was very salty, and a little bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This recipe was very easy, and very tasty! Instead of Cajun seasoning I used Old Bay, 1.5 tsp, and it was perfect! I also substituted one small onion for the shallots. What a great blend of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPATISTA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Excellent recipe! I have made it twice now - the first time I stuck to the recipe, and the 2nd time the main change I made was to add fresh garlic. I minced a couple of cloves into the shrimp & olive oil first step and I also added a couple cloves to the shallots & mushrooms as they cooked. In my opinion this gave it a more complex flavor that was just a little bit lacking the first time I made it. But I am a huge fresh garlic fan, although I tried not to go overboard with it so as not to overpower the other flavors. It was really excellent & very rich tasting despite using LITE sour cream. As delicious as similar recipes that use heavy cream - just not necessary. Thanks for a great recipe - will be making this one quite often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaphneB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Well, I'm on the fence on this one. Hubby liked this more than I did, I think. It was good, but I didn't think it was great. I think 6 oz. of pasta for four people is a bit skimpy, unless, of course, you're watching those carbs. The sauce was thinner than I would have liked and the recipe didn't indicate whether or not to drain the red peppers. I did drain mine on paper towels. I can't imagine how thin the sauce would have been had I not drained them. I also thought this recipe was what I call "fussy" - into the pan, out of the pan, into the pan, out of the pan - a lot of juggling going on. All and all a good recipe, just didn't wow me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States