Blackened Shrimp Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I made this last week on Valentine's Day. Of course, it's a recipe, so that means it's just a guide, right? Used scallops because that's what I had. It was wonderful! We've been looking for a good pasta dish w/o tomatoes or tomato sauce but hadn't come across one we both liked. I used some Mrs Dash instead of the seasoning. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherst, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Very tasty! I found it to be lacking slightly even though I doubled the Cajun seasoning and added a little garlic to the shrimp. Forgot the capers so that could have been my fault! Next time I'll add a little Dijon mustard just prior to serving. This would also be good with mixed seafood and/or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I followed the receipe minus the capers. It just didn't have any flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Tried this recipes for my family on Valentine's Day, it was a hit! I did make few changes. I used my own no sodium chicken broth. Added a tsp of cajun seasoning to the sauce, and about 1/3 cup of sweet peas, I did omitted roasted pepper to red bell peppers. This will absolutely be made again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I can't wait to try this with cream instead of sour cream. I think it will be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mishalee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I added more capers (1/3 of a 3.5 oz. jar), substituted shrimp broth for the chicken broth, and used portabella mushrooms. It was very flavorful and the juice was great sopped up with our toasted garlic bread. We're going to change it up next time to make the sauce thicker...a bit more like alfredo. We'll see!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I made this last night for a special meal with family. It was five-star restaurant quality and everyone loved it. I did tweak it a bit which is unusual for me on the first attempt but I felt the sauce needed the addition of Parmesan cheese. I also used white wine in the initial sauce. Wonderful recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Very good flavor. However it didn't quite have the kick I was looking for. Next I'll double or triple the Cajun seasoning. Nevertheless it is now saved to my recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Very nice recipe, all fresh ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This one is a keeper. Followed the other reviewers suggestions and substituted half of the chicken broth for white wine. I also couldn't find the roasted red peppers but I wanted the color and used sun dried tomatoes instead. I did have hubby stop at the store on his way home and pick up a jar of capers. The others reviewers were correct......the capers are a must! Yummy.....everyone loved it. Hubby was bummed their weren't any leftovers to take for his lunch the next day. I doubled the recipe, guess I'll have to triple it the next time. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States