Blackened Shrimp Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I added more capers (1/3 of a 3.5 oz. jar), substituted shrimp broth for the chicken broth, and used portabella mushrooms. It was very flavorful and the juice was great sopped up with our toasted garlic bread. We're going to change it up next time to make the sauce thicker...a bit more like alfredo. We'll see!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I made this last night for a special meal with family. It was five-star restaurant quality and everyone loved it. I did tweak it a bit which is unusual for me on the first attempt but I felt the sauce needed the addition of Parmesan cheese. I also used white wine in the initial sauce. Wonderful recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Very good flavor. However it didn't quite have the kick I was looking for. Next I'll double or triple the Cajun seasoning. Nevertheless it is now saved to my recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I haven't made this yet, but do have a question. We can't eat mushrooms, so I wondered if there was something anyone could recommend that would be a good replacement? Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Very nice recipe, all fresh ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This one is a keeper. Followed the other reviewers suggestions and substituted half of the chicken broth for white wine. I also couldn't find the roasted red peppers but I wanted the color and used sun dried tomatoes instead. I did have hubby stop at the store on his way home and pick up a jar of capers. The others reviewers were correct......the capers are a must! Yummy.....everyone loved it. Hubby was bummed their weren't any leftovers to take for his lunch the next day. I doubled the recipe, guess I'll have to triple it the next time. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
This was fantastic!! I took the advice of others and substituted 2/3 cups of chicken broth with white wine. The sauce was delicious. Everyone like it so much that kept coming back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Made this tonight for my husband and I. Tweaked it as suggested by some reviewers such as added 1/2 chicken stock and 1/2 white wine. I also made my own blackened spice which is simple. Loved it! Will definitely make it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pony, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I didn't have sour cream so used plain unflavored Greek yogurt and it was tangy-fantastic (and lower calorie to boot). If you want a change from Cajun Seasoning try Seafood Seasoning such as Old Bay Seasoning or Penzey's Chesapeake Bay Seasoning. It tastes great! For people who have trouble with lumpiness, I suggest whisking the sauce with a whisk during preparation. It took out my lumps in the yogurt mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
This was okay, but I wasn't able to master the stroganoff technique thing . . .the sour cream sauce clumped up and didn't thicken (is it supposed to? I have no idea), so perhaps it needs tempering. Hubs liked it okay, and I just thought it was so so. To be fair, I did accidentally over garlic it--used whole garlic cloves instead of shallots and I was a bit too liberal with the amount. Other than that, I left out the roasted red peppers (don't have them at the moment) and the capers (hubs hates them, so I humored him). We still ate it, and I don't think we'll ignore the leftovers, but we'll try something different next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States