Blackened Seasoning Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Nice flavor, but definitely lacking in heat, even with 2 tsp of cayenne, when I tried it on blackened tuna steak. I added two more tsp of cayenne to the remaining blackening spice. We'll see how that works next time I use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
way too hot!! good flavor though, next time with cut back on cayenne for sure. don't want to ruin another dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Will use again and again as written. Didn't change a thing. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wenzel Soliday

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Excellent! Used it for seasoning "Pan-Seared Tilapia" from this site. It was perfect for that dish. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I love this mix. I have been putting it on my fish. So far i tried it with trout, salmon and talapia, and I just smeared a little butter on then added the spices and baked it at 400 until it was done (about 20 or 30 minutes depending on the type of fish). I like the trout the best. I did cut the cayenne in half because not everyone can handle that much heat and I did add a little salt but not actually in the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I thought it was just OK. I put it on a piece of Talapia and some shrimp. In my opinion, the taste of the oregano is too strong for my taste. The wife didn't like it either. The only changes I made were I added a tsp of sugar and 1/2 tsp of celery seeds. I saw them in the ingredients list of Chef Pauls ($5.00) small bottle of 'Redfish Magic'. So, why not! The heat level was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was perfect for my leftover Prime Rib. I made blackened Prime Rib sandwiches with my leftover pieces of meat. I buttered one side of the Prime Rib, diped both sides in the rub, heated my iron skillet for 10 minutes on High, and blackened the meat buttered-side first for about a minute and then flipped it over. Of course, my kitchen filled up with smoke, but a quick blast with the attic fan took care of that. I cut a baguette in half lengthwise, then into thirds (for 3 sandwiches), toasted each one, added some provolone cheese, sauteed onions and italian dressing. Mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NightmareCook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This was perfect! I decided last minute I wanted blackened chicken tacos and was able to whip this up in a heart beat. I subbed Mrs. Dash salt free italian seasonings for the thyme since I didn't have any. It came out great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Farmingville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
We were looking for a good blackened seasoning recipe and this was good. Not as spicy as we were looking for, but we made some kicked up dipping sauce to go with the meat we were putting this rub on. Next time, we will be adding a little more spice, but not salty as we have found wih other receipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blakely, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Very good seasoning. I made this to use on top of some cod, and it was very good. I'm not a big fish eater, but this definitely helped! This one is going in the recipe box. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Fajita Seasoning

Turn simple spices into a flavorful fajita seasoning blend.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States